Trains, Freaks and Auld Reekie


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 15th 2006
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Early morning today, up at 6:30, ready and on the first bus out of Rannoch, 7:30am sharp. Had a good chat with Russell on the drive out, always nice. He's an interesting character.
Got my ticket to Edinburgh, and then got to sit in Baker's Oven for about an hour, as I JUST missed the first train into the city. Always works that way. Rannoch has this ability to screw everything up without even trying. It's talented like that.
The guy sitting across from me on the train was...well, ok, there's no way around it, he was a freak. Freaky, freaky man. Why do they always sit with me? Why can't they sit with someone else? Maybe I need to work on being/looking less Canadian and thus friendly and approachable....maybe that's it.
Anyway, he has these massive bottle-cap glasses on (looks something like Ichabod Crane), and he keeps staring at me, and then giving this like really deep, breathy laugh, then smearing thick, white Nivea face cream all over his lips and smiling at me. If moving all of my stuff didn't take so much effort, I would so move. But I just don't have the energy.
I finally made it to my hostel. It was more of an adventure getting here than I anticipated.
I love how everything in Scotland is uphill. Both ways. I know where all of those old stories originate now, that your grandparents always tell you. It comes from Scottish ancestors. Because even though it should be impossible, everything here is uphill, no matter which direction you're walking in. I'm serious...even walking downhill, you're actually going uphill.
Anyway...one very important thing learned today: Walking on wet cobblestones is DANGEROUS. And difficult when you are loaded down with gear as only I seem to be able to load myself down.
I was so thankful that they put me on the ground floor. I don't think I could have handled stairs. I might have died.
Quick text to Tony to let him know I got to the city, and then it's nap time.
Yay for naps!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb