Scotland with my Parents - St Andrews


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Saint Andrews
September 24th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Monday we drove to St Andrews, which I’ve decided is my favorite town in Scotland. It’s so pretty. I’d live here if I had the chance. I was only there for the day, and was going to take a bus back to Edinburgh that night. The hotel my parents was staying at was right on the Old Course, and in fact, their bedroom overlooked the 18th (and 1st) hole. We saw the famous Swilcan Bridge, where every golfer walks over between the 17th and 18th hole. We walked around town, looking at the university, castle, chapel, etc. The University of St Andrews is the oldest in Scotland, founded in 1410-11. We walked thru the quads of St. Salvator’s in North Street. Of course, you can’t get away from golf in this town-the links at St. Andrews was first used for golf in 1552, and the links were crudely laid out. It is a market town, lots of shopping. I saw the beach where scenes from “Chariots of Fire” was filmed- on the West Sands Beach. Mom and I walked up St. Rules Tower. St Rules Tower is all that remains of the first church of the Augustinian priory in St. Andrews. It was once a part of the largest cathedral in Scotland. It was constructed in the 12th and 13th centuries. There were gorgeous panoramic views at the top, but it had those really narrow, tall staircases to get to the good views.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me at St Salvators CollegeMe at St Salvators College
Me at St Salvators College

University of St Andrew


20th November 2007

My Favorite Too
St. Andrews was my favorite town in Scotland as well and not just because of the golf. It's because of the same reason you like it.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb