What could possibly go wrong?!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Buteshire » Isle of Arran
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys,

I spoke too soon. Having entered Scotland, not only did my tent pole snap one night, but I also ended up in hospital for one night on the Isle Of Arran of all places.

Having disembarked from the ferry at Broddick, I headed north towards Lochranza where the Youth Hostel is. On my way whilst passing through the town of Corrie, I noticed a seal laying on top of one of the rocks close to shore. I, of course, wanted a photo of it. It was remarkably still so I decided to get closer and went to lean my bike up against a fence when I trod on a steel girder (those used to reinforce concrete) which punctured the front of my leg. I thought back to my first adiding days applied pressure and elevated the leg. I walked over to the shop opposite to see if he had any tissue and told him what I had done. He to my annoyance told me that the seal was made of wood!!! Anyway another couple on a bike had a first aid kit with them and applied a bandage. I then carried on with my bike ride for another 13 miles.

At the Youth Hostel another bandage was applied, but a couple of hours down the line it was still oozing blood and my calf muscle was starting to get tight, so we rang the hospital to get advice. They told me to come in straight away, particularly as the steel girder was rusty. There aren't many buses on the island and no taxis at night, so an ambulance had to come and pick me up for the 45 minute journey.

At the hospital, I instantly felt that the doctor thought I had been playing up a bit. That was until he put me under local anesthetic and pushed a metal instrument into my leg which carried on for 2 inches. His words were" I'll let you off then". Phew! Anyway a minimum of 4 days rest without cycling stuck in a Youth Hostel in Lochranza which hasn't even got a shop! Shocker!!

Anyway, waiting until Tuesday until I can continue with my journey where hopefully I won't be plagued by anymore equipment or personal problems. Until then take care and speak to you soon. Cheers Clive


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Holy Island opposite Isle of ArranHoly Island opposite Isle of Arran
Holy Island opposite Isle of Arran

Has its own Bhuddist Temple


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb