End of season visit to Aberdeen


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
August 7th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Todd pulled out another great performance on my second trip to Aberdeen. He had a really successful season as Aberdeenshire's international pro and was pivotal in their promotion, so I hope he comes back next season!

I flew up Thursday night for my extended weekend, and while the weather never really played game, it didn't stop us getting out and about. Aberdeen is dubbed the Granite City, but it's also known as the Flower of Scotland for its stunning parks and gardens. Having checked out several during my first visit in May, we decided to head to Pitmedden Garden - about 45 minutes' drive north. Originating in the 17th century, it's no wonder their box hedges were so perfect! In the evening Rach went off to work at the clubrooms and Todd and I took a stroll to the nearby Duthie Park. We then headed into town for a meal at a Japanese restaurant, and cocktails in a funky converted church called Soul.

Waking to heavy rain on Saturday, we never thought Todd's game against Stirling County would take place. We settled in for a morning of Olympics coverage before Todd headed off to Mannofeild Park to check out the situation. He was captain that day, so I really hoped he would get on the field. Rachel and I walked into town in the meantime, where we had lunch at my favourite shop - Books and Beans - and for a look around the shops. Shortly after Todd gave us a call to say that they were going to have a reduced 30-over match, so I got to see some cricket after all!

Todd won the toss and sent the opposition in to score 115 for five. He picked up a wicket and then went on to make 45* - securing the victory and man of the match! After their infamous fine session we all had dinner at the clubrooms and then hit the town, which is always a good night out.

My flight back on Sunday was not till after tea, so after a good sleep in we braved the rain and headed to the Winter Gardens in Duthie Park. Todd and I then chilled out to a movie, and Rach cooked us a yummy dinner, before it was time to fly back from my home away from home...away from home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb