Picture, Pictures, pictures


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland
October 7th 2005
Published: October 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Party in the stair wellParty in the stair wellParty in the stair well

Sincec we don't have a comon room in the house we have been gathering in the kitchen and stairwell.
On Saturday a huge group of International students took a trip to the North Antirm Coast, the Giants causeway, and Dunluce Castle.
The day was typical weather wise for Northern Ireland. The morning was beautiful and clear. Blue skies abounding in alll their glory, then as we get along in the car the rain begins pouring down. I was very glad that I had packed my rain coat. Of course once we arrive first in Port Stewart The sun once again comes out. But the calming breeze is replaced by a fierce wind, which you can see in the pictures. At all points throught the day we were subject to the ever changing mood of the weather. However, we did see more rainbows that day then I think I have ever seen. when I was a child my fascination with drawing hundreds of rainbows skipping about on a sky full of clouds seemed endless. Perhaps, there is more to my name then the letters that spell it.
We went to Dunluce Castle. A beautiful castle built on a out cropping of a cliff. The stories of intrigue, murder and of course tragic love affairs abound in its walls.
Windy Port StewartWindy Port StewartWindy Port Stewart

Housemates, Sarah, me and Chris at Port Stewart.
One Story I was particularly fond of was of a certain duchess who married the duke of the castle after meeting him in London. One she moved to her new home she had no idea that it stood on cliffs a hundred feet or more above the torrential north Atlantic sea. The thing is she hated the sound of the ocean. Poor woman. What made the story worse was one night as she hosted a lavish dinner party the north wall of the kitchen feel into the ocean taking several servants with it. After that she refused to ever step foot into the castle and another home was built for her on the meadows away from the shore. Walking around the skeletal remains of the castle I could not see how any person could escape the sound of the ocean, let alone the fear of the whole castle crumbing into the sea.
After Dunluce castle we arrived at the giants Causeway. It was mythically built by a giant who fell in love with another giant who lived in Scotland. So he guilt a causeway for the two to meet. IT is actually created by lava cooling as it entered
Dunluce CastleDunluce CastleDunluce Castle

Sarah and I at Dunluce
the sea, when Ireland was a tropical island! A tropical Island, I wish! The stones looked more like giant pavers which could be sliced like loaves of bread to pave walkways. They were amazing and the wind was fierce as you can see from at least one of the pictures.


Odd Moments



Dancing in a hard rock club and the U2 song Bloody Sunday was played. amazing everyone rocked out. I couldn't get myself to move past the irony.
Overhearing conversations about America and american policy, always exciting.
Trying to understand why libraries ever close, let alone for half the day on Saturday and all day Sunday.
Tomorrow having a Mexican Dinner night. I am looking forward to eating some good ole enchilades.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Dunluce CastleDunluce Castle
Dunluce Castle

House Mates, Kedric, Sarah and Chris. YEs Chris' hair was doing that the whole time. I hate to think what my hair would've looked like at the end of the day had I worn it down.
Dunluce Castle-MeganDunluce Castle-Megan
Dunluce Castle-Megan

Housemate Megan. She's working on a masters in Archeaology so she was on cloud nine.
Dunluce Castle-Kedric and EvanDunluce Castle-Kedric and Evan
Dunluce Castle-Kedric and Evan

Housemate Kedric and Evan
Giant's CausewayGiant's Causeway
Giant's Causeway

Yup that's what my hair was doing all day!


8th October 2005

Wow
HI Cassandra! Wow what an experience!! Thanks for starting a blog, I look forward to reading more about your adventures!! Love Megan H
11th October 2005

missing you
I love the photos of the Antrim Coast. So beautiful, you are so lucky that you saw the castle, I just took photos! XOX

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb