Hike through the Galtees


Advertisement
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Went for a looooong hike through the Galtee Mountains. We hiked 16km+ and 6.5hr (including breaks) and we were able to reach our desitination...Galteemore, 919m. I think it's the highest peak in Ireland and I was dead tired. The gang had a good guide with us from work so we were able to hike through random areas we never would've found on our own. I think we took the extreme scenic route which allowed us to see the nicest bits of the Galtees. I am a wimp though and thought I was going to die on the mountain. Luckily, we found one of those fancy hiking sticks and that saved my ankles more than once coming down the mountain.

There was beautiful scenery all around and sheep galore! We saw baby sheep and dead sheep and I was nearly blown off the side of the mountain but it was all worth it in the end.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



2nd May 2007

Looks beautiful!
Hey Vivian, Long time no talk! Been crazy busy. I found an excellend Irish pub near my work and immediately thought of you! Called "Dublin's Crossing" it has flat screen TV's showing pictures of Ireland, and the stonework, ironwork and hand blown glass (all real!) are authenticaly imported from Ireland!!! If that is a taste of what you are experiencing, I need to see how I can get down there someday! I'll order us a Smithwick's and chase it with a Guiness! :) Hope all is well, hope you keep havin' fun, 'cause that's what it's all 'bout man!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb