Belfast and Beyond


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Quick pics from our trip to Belfast and the Giant's Causeway. It was a whirlwind tour accomplished in one very quick weekend. Our tour bus driver was from Northern Ireland and I am now officially adept at telling the difference between Northern Irish and Irish accents. From near the Causeway you can see across the water to Scotland very faintly in the distance and we are now feeling the tug to head that way for our next trip. Dublin so far has been rainy rainy rainy. Of the 40 days I've been here only 3 have been without rain. I'm starting to feel like I should start building an ark to sail home on. On that note, I just booked my flight home so I will be in Thunder Bay for two weeks at the beginning of September then back to Ottawa. I have to say I will be happy to be back in Canada. I've only been gone for 6 months but it feels like so much longer. Even though the language in Ireland is familiar, I think that in some ways Finland is more like Canada in terms of standard of living. I'm looking forward to a normal shower that doesn't heat water as it comes out the jet, insulated houses, and Campbells soup that tastes like Campbells soup.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



21st July 2007

overachiever
.....now that you have finished the causeway you can officially join the Nolalu hiking club....your first trip will be the Hugginin Trail Loop on Isle Royale ....10 miles in 3 hours round trip no stopping.....keep up the great sightseeing!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb