Last Entry of My Europe 2008 Trip!


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a bit more of a lazy day, though it was good! I got up a little later than usual, but made it to breakfast before it ended with 2 minutes to spare. Whew! Gotta get that free toast and tea!

I hung out for a bit, not doing a whole lot, and waiting for my friend Jenni, so that we would walk into the city centre together. I was going for info on what to do this afternoon, and she was looking for a pin that said Belfast, or Northern Ireland. She left me at the info centre, so that she could get back to the hostel to grab her bags, meet the two American guys, and get on her 1pm bus. I, on the other hand, grabbed a sandwich at Tesco (supermarket) and headed to the Central Train station to catch a train to Antrim. I made it with 3 minutes to spare! 😊

I headed into Antrim, which was a 20 minute train ride, and headed to the tourist office. They told me how I could find the lake, Lough Neagh (a huge lake in the middle of Northern Ireland!), the Round Tower, the castle, and a few other interesting places to take photos. I wandered to the lake, enjoyed the sunshine (YAY!), walked back along the river, saw the remains of the castle, and castle walls, headed to a really old church, and then went into the 24H Tesco. The first 24H supermarket I had seen over here all trip long! (Although it isn't 24-7 -- it appears to close between Sat. night and Sun. morning, and then between Sun. night and Mon. morning.) It was a good sized supermarket, and I decided that I would get some Bourbon Cream cookies to bring home with me (hopefully they won't break to pieces in my backpack -- I'll have to pack them carefully!) and walked through the store. I also found some cheap chocolate milk (again, I've only found cheap choc. milk in N. Ireland) and a bottle of water. I also decided to get something to eat for breakfast tomorrow, since I'll be leaving the hostel before breakfast starts, so no free toast and tea for me.

After Tesco, I walked past the train station to the Round Tower. I've seen one of these before, on my last trip to Ireland (the South, that is) and thought it was pretty cool. I got back to the train station with more than a half hour to kill -- good thing my iPod has games on it!

I got back to Belfast in time for dinner, grabbed something to eat, and then headed back to the hostel. I think my plan for tonight is to repack my backpack (maybe), or at least make sure I've got everything packed for tomorrow morning to the best of my ability, and then take a shower tonight. Hopefully then, I can just get up in the morning, change into my travel clothes, put some stuff in my hair, and go. My towel can dry overnight then, instead of sitting damp in my backpack.

That's it for me from Europe! See you guys soon! :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb