First Few Days of Eurotrip 2009!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So here it is! The first few days of my trip summed up in one blog....

The flight over was, um, trying. The seat was okay, and they were showing the movie "Duplicity". Glad I never paid money to see that movie. Considering it was Julia Roberts and Clive Owen, I thought it would have been much better than it was. The dinner was so-so. Pasta with chicken. Should have ordered the non-chicken version. 😞 And then I tried to sleep. Not so easy, sitting next to the snuffalopagus. Every 5 minutes, the guy beside me snuffled. Not sniffed like trying to avoid a drippy nose, but snuffled like he was about to hock a lugie (sp?). It was pretty disgusting. And the guy could NOT sit still! He shuffled, shifted, and bumped me several times an hour. All in all, not a restful night. 😞

I also couldn't believe that I had an aisle seat. Apparently, I arrived too late to get a window (what? I was there 3h early! I guess checking in online has its advantages. 😞 No room for my backpack under the seat in front of me either -- what a stupid place to put those metal legs!) Unfortunately, that will probably be the case on the trip home too....

I got to the airport and heaved a sigh of relief when I saw my bag on the conveyor belt. After hearing Michelle's recent story of lost baggage, I was a little concerned. But, luck was on my side! Not for long though. I started to head to the RER (commuter train to Paris) and then realized, I didn't really know where I was going. I checked through my travel info book and realized that in my rush to get packed, I had forgotten to note down which subway station I needed to go to. I was there last year, so I was thinking it was the Porte d'Italie, but I wasn't sure. I headed to Information, where it took them 15 minutes to realize that they weren't sure where it was either. They mentioned Porte d'Italie too, so I took that as a good sign. It worked!

Took the RER B line into Paris and was reminded of a few things from the last time I took the RER, which was my first arrival in France ever, 1990. The RER is confusing! There are beggars on the train who try to sell you things, or play the accordion to make money. French men stink. With all the accomplishments made by technology in the world, you'd think that they would have an idea of what anti-perspirant/deodorant was! But I digress....

Paris was... Paris. Nothing special, and since I've been there so many times before, there wasn't much that I was dying to see. I got my French tuna sandwich (I love those! No more dreams of them, but still adore them), picked up my train tickets for later in the trip, and of course, faced French bureaucracy. Fortunately again, luck was on my side. When I head back to Paris at the end of my trip, I'll hit the things I still want to do, such as go into the Sacre Coeur, and climb the Eiffel Tower.

Headed to Glasgow yesterday. Quite uneventful, which when you're traveling by yourself, is a good thing. The flight was fine, caught up on some TV shows on my iPod, and nodded off a bit. Took the train from the airport, helped out a French guy to understand about discounts on the train ticket, and got into Glasgow safely. Found the subway, took it to the correct stop (had it written down this time!!!) and made it to my hostel fine, though it was an uphill climb from the subway. Ugh. The room isn't bad; a single with my own washroom and shower. There's also a common room with a kitchen, including fridge, so it's pretty good.

I headed downtown to look into getting my cell phone up and running, and just added some time onto. If anyone wants my cell #, send me a message and I'll email or text you. It's the same number as last year, so if I called you or texted you last year, and you still have the info, feel free to text me! 😉

I was a little disappointed that the stores close here at 6pm, so I didn't get to do any shopping. I did make it back to the train station and got my tickets for Newcastle, so that's good, and then had a cheap meal in a pub. A chicken burger, fries, and a pint of Strongbow for £4.49. Not bad! Cheaper than what you could get in TO! Found a supermarket and got myself some Bourbon Cream cookies and Cherry Coke Zero, two of my favourite things! I went to use the internet cafe that was open "till late" and discovered it closed at 7:45pm. So much for open late. Didn't do a whole lot last night, but watch more iPod TV and sleep. I think my allergies have been giving me some trouble, and the lack of sleep (7h combined over Sun. and Mon. nights) had caught up with me.

Today was pretty good. I woke later than I had intended to, but not a problem. I went to the Dr. Who exhibit at the Kelvingrove Museum and thoroughly enjoyed that. Took lots of photos and a few videos. I wandered around the museum a bit too, and thought it was pretty good for free entry. (Only had to pay to enter the Dr. Who part.) I then wandered up to Glasgow University and took some more photos. Hit the underground again and took it into the downtown area, so I could walk to Glasgow Cathedral. It was pretty nice too. Walked back toward the shopping area and stopped at the Glasgow City Chambers. Neat exterior, and a fantastic interior! It was beautiful inside! Took lots more photos before heading back to the shopping area. Hit a couple of "Pound Stores" and found some souvenirs for my nieces and nephews.

I think that's about it, as I'm sure that some of you are wondering when this will end.... I agree it's quite long, and don't intend to make all my entries this long. But how else do you sum up 3 days worth of a trip???? 😊

I think I'll hit the pub again, for another cheap meal before going back to my room. Not much to do at night, and I'm not sure I'm up for night photography tonight. We'll see. I'm heading to Newcastle to see Anna tomorrow, and hopefully will have better internet access there. Feel free to write me a message!!!

Advertisement



9th July 2009

Don't forget the lipbalm! :-)
I think I read they're only available in UK or France. But I can't say for sure. I'll send you txt messages. It's free for you to receive them? I'll send them as email from my mac.What email address do I send them to?
9th July 2009

Hey, Sue!
Ah.. port d'italie.. brings back memories. I love how every country has a 'dollar' store!
10th July 2009

Hey! Sounds like you are beginning an adventure! I leave on Sunday and am madly packing as I am away for the weekend at a wedding......ahh last minute packing! I have to admit I am a little nervous about going it alone this time, but it will be an adventure and what doesn't kill you makes you stronger right :) I hope you have a great time and get some awesome pictures....I'm sure you will being the photo expert! According to Laura we don't have much internet access, so have a superb trip and hopefully I'll be able to keep everyone posted via FB. Take care Sue! Louise
10th July 2009

Replies
Alisa, I will send you my cell number by email. I looked in 4 stores here in the UK and have not seen your lip balm anywhere. It just may not be in the cards for you... :( Shelley, I love the "dollar" stores too! Louise, I'm sure that you will have a great time and have lots of your own stories to tell when you get back. Have a super time!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb