Cambridge to Portsmouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 29th 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cambridge to Portsmouth


August 29 Wednesday - Today I rode the train from Cambridge to Portsmouth. I stopped at Kings Cross Station in London and caught the underground to Victoria Station where I caught another train which took me to Portsmouth.

I was a bit dissapointed in the train trip as I had expected to be able to see more scenery but the majority of the time all I saw on the side of the track was the side of the track.

When I got to Portsmouth I took a cab to the hostel and got settled in. I stayed at the Portsmouth & Southseas Backpackers Lodge. The Hostel was at 4 Florence Rd about a block North of South Parade. It was a pretty good hostel and as far as I know the only hostel in Portsmouth.

There is an excellent fish and chips restaurant up on Clarenden Road at St Catherine St. There is also a 24/7 store there as well as a laundromat and another store.

After I checked in I walked down to the seaside and explored a bit. Portsmouth surprised me a bit as I had expected a busy port but instead found a seaside resort town. It was quite nice and had several gardens for walking in.

It had been quite warm in Cambridge so I was a bit suprised to find Portsmouth to be wet and windy.

I visited the D Day museum and since I got there late in the day they signed my ticket and said I could come back to finish the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb