Running to a different sound track


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've dedicated so much time to being sat in front of this computer since I got home, and soooooo many people have asked me "What's it like to be home after so long?" that I really feel I should try and answer. For myself if no-one else.

The initial reaction is its the same. Same same, but different I guess. I was prepared for a massive culture shock, and it felt as if I had just been away for the weekend. Whats with that? I wanted culture shock. I wanted it to feel wierd. But no. If I look really, really hard I can see some slight, subtle changes. But then I'm not sure if thats just me looking through different eyes. Apparently I can wipe the slate of the last 3 years of my life and pretend it was all a dream if I want. NO I DON'T WANT. I want to be reminded everyday how the last 3 years of my life were a constant adventure. How I never knew what was around the corner or what the next twist in the road had in store for me. How I had no idea of the beautiful and inspiring people I would be about to meet. And how frequently one moment would define the next chapter of my life.

I LIKE that there are so many chapters I don't even know where to start. I LIKE that there are so few people out of the thousands I have met that have really touched me. And it's the people and the converstaions you have that touch you, not the places you see and the photographs you take. Knowing who to stay in touch with is easier this way. Knowing who to meet up with is even easier.

And thats why I'm not stopping now. Hell this blog has just begun. I just figured out how to start living. That there are no rules and there are no limits. I'm just starting to learn how to live every day as if its my last. Bring it on.


Advertisement



2nd November 2009

hear hear
My god, that brought tears to my eyes and I can resonate with every single word you say!!! Can't wait to read the next chapters Miss Roy. xxxxxx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb