Malvern Adventure Weekend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire » Malvern
October 13th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

When we boarded the bus at palace court we were expecting a three hour ride to 'wus-ter-sher' worcestershire for the weekend. At ont point we were driving through wales becuase our bus driver got lost. We arrived at almost midnight and we roamed around with flashlights lookin for cows until the rest of the FYSAE kids got her. The place was a typical camp kind of place. Although all the pictures showed little kids so I was hoping the rock climbing wall was at least taller than me ha ha
THe first day fter a hearty breakfast they split us into groups. I was with all palace court people but it would ahve been sweet cause I was with Sara and she was going to be hardcore into it with me. THen Daniel was like "i need two girls to volunteer to be with the guys group." I don't hink he even finshed the sentence before my arm shot up! haha He picked me and jess to be guys with them lol
I was SO excited about the next two days.
THe first day we did the totem pole highpole thing, whatever it was called. I bolted to the top like a monkey no problem (i did it the night before with no wires so i was all set. Oh and just for hte record I BEAT ZACK!!) We had to try and do this thing where four of us got to the top of it and then linked arms and leaned backwards but the first time it was a disaster...the scond time we actally got really close.
After that we did rock climbing which was sweet. The best part was when you got all the way to the top and just leaped off. I think that means im ready to sky dive! haha Daniel kept challenging me all weekend to do different things or try the harder path and it was so sweet. I could have just gone through everything but I like being chalenged to try something harder. :-D After lunch we did the highropes..I love those. I went third which was a good position to be in. Zach went behind me which was fun haha I got past he first part fine there was nothing to it and then I get to the Indiana Jones ladder thing and I'm looking at this like there is absolutely no way im getting across it. I'm not afraid of heights and i have no idea why im leting this own my life. My palms were getting clammy and everything. Dan was on the ground yet and yells up somethin like "melber, take of the skirt and run across it!" I couldnt' stop laughing becuase I'm one of the few girls you can get away with saying that to hahaha so i just bolted across the ladder and i didn' fall...how on earth i managed that i have no idea haha THe adrenaline was really pumping after that one! I highly recommend being one of the first people to do a ropes course because its so nice to watch otehrs do it. Esp because when you're up there everyone on the ground is like "dude, it doesn't look taht bad whats your problem just do it" and then when they actualy get up there they are like "oh crap, it looked sooo much easier from the ground" So you get you bitter revenge making fun of them..as i did with daniel...He cracked! haha and when I say he cracked..i mean his voice(and maybe a little bit in the head to ha ha)....hahaha I kept taunting him, hopefully not taking it TOO far haha but he was just like "you're more of a man than I am"....and i mean that as a complament" I was dying...i think imay have actually fallen to the ground because I was laughing so hard. It was definitely the best part of the weekend the high ropes course. With Zack behind me I was nervous at one point that he would be making fun of me too for getting caught up at some of the obstacles, but we were both like ok this isn't that super easy so uh...truce? haha The first time me and zack truced haha I've done high ropes courses before and they are awesome. i think that gave me an advantage since this was my third time on it, but they never get old. I always have so much fun on them...it also helps with you are with an awesome crowd of people.
After that we did archery. Thinking about it I realized it had been probably almost 10 years since I had touched abow which made me feel kind of old. haha Me and Dan had our own little competition of course....man i love a good challenge. Too bad I lost (which he didn't let me forget ) Zach was cracking me up all weekend cause he's like BeckyMelber you are a mountain woman....and he would just stare at me when i did anything. I love that guy haha We never got to battle it out like we were hoping to do...i might to up to scotland for the day to batle with him. It would totaly be worth it! haha
I learned two very importatnt games this weeend...Ultimate Freisbee and Rugby...both were explained to me and i can now play ultimate freisbee although I am terrible at catching (i don't understand that at all) and now i can watch rugby and know what is going on which is nice. We went on a hike and a nighttime scavenger hunt kind of thin both were so much fun. I realized my map reading skills aren't tooooo bad haa
This weekend is exactly what I needed. Fresh air, running around like a little kid, no city disturbances...no worries in the world...just climbing around and being crazy.


Advertisement



1st November 2007

You can take the girl out of the country but you can't take the country out of the girl.... :)

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb