Mini-trip: Stonehenge & Bath


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Stonehenge
October 7th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The girls and I spent October 4th, in Bath & Stonehenge area for some touristy fun!

Bath: No rubber duckies here

Stonehenge: Big Rox

The city of Bath was reminiscent of Oxford, with its beautiful architecture. From a distance you can see the honey coloured stones that the buildings are made of. Quite beautiful. We were here mainly for the Roman Baths not to be confused with ensuite baths (harhar!). The history, again was fascinating. That's what I love most about England. It's older than any place in North America, and all the famous places I've only read in books or documentaries are HERE, a stones throw away! Amazing.

Stonehenge: During my first trip to England, I really wanted to visit Stonehenge. Its mystery is so fascinating.

-=-

One rainy, rainy english night
If there was a lesson to be learned in London, I learned it today. I've been complaining all week, to friends about the job I despise. I don't use all my potential there and it's something i'm not really passionate about. It really is JUST a job.

Everyone's told me to just suck it up and put a smile on my face. I won't be living in England forever, so just enjoy and make the best of it. It's not even really a problem, it was more a growing pain. A growing up. A realization that sometimes, you're dealt a crap hand and you got to make the best of it. Everyone can play great hands well. It's when someone plays a crap hand well that's something to boast about.

Anyway, so this morning, I decided just make the best of it. Put on a smile. That's it. So I did. I went on about my day and it was fine.

It was in the early evening that I learned my lesson. I was at King's Cross/St. Pancras tube station (The worst STATION! even worse than Victoria as far as volume of traffic) and I got on the train to go to Farringdon Stn one stop away.

As I got on the tube, I noticed a Transport for London employee help a girl onto the train. I just figured she was drunk, so that was fine. The doors close and I watch her. She's just standing there. She wasn't a big girl at all, very slim, maybe 5'4, no more than 110lbs. just like my little sister.

I look at her eyes. She's looking down. But not at anything really. You know that look when someone is looking 'through' something and not at it. There was no focus. Then I looked at her hands. She had folded her white cane and was holding it the way you would a wet umbrella. She was blind. I knew no one knew this yet except me. So I go up to her -- "Do you want to sit down".

That's when the train started moving and she hadn't grabbed anything to hold on to yet. Another lady on the train realized what I had already knew and asked some people to move from their seats so she could sit.

This time the train was already moving. And she swayed back and forth falling to the ground, "whoaaaa!" she said, and I caught her by the arm just in time to lessen the blow of the fall. She apologized to the man she fell on.

Why was no one moving? Can they not see this girl is blind.

I help her up and ask her to hold on to the post as the seat right behind her became vacant. I helped her sit down.

Then with my back facing her, I could feel that familiar lump in my throat start to build up. I fought the tears back hard. Thank you up there for the lesson.

How could I be so selfish? Hating my job because it's not 'what i want'. I complain so much that I'm not challenged, that I'm not pushing my limits. I should really be thanking the heavens that I don't have LIMITS. That I can do whatever I want. That I can do WHATEVER I WANT.

The last time I learned a similar lesson, it wasn't as dramatic but had the same effect. My friend Tony from work and I were walking to U of T during lunch. It's a pretty far walk, 20 minutes speed walking. We walked up University Avenue and right when I said, Tony my feet hurt, we passed by one of the hospitals and right in front of me was a man in a wheel chair. Tony just looked at me and said, SEE. STOP IT.

I will never forget today, for the rest of my life.









Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb