Victorian Ice House, my roommates and Jerry Springer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Egham
June 27th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So the last few days have been quite busy. Sending off my first weekend of trips is always a bit hectic. As I was returning home to get ready for an evening in London to see Chicago I started chatting with the maintenance guys. In front of my building is this huge mound of dirt. Every day the guys rake the mound and finally I got curious. Turns out, this isn't just any mound. It's a Victorian Ice House (yes, in front of my window) that is a category 2 protected monument in the UK. They took me in the "restricted zone" and really what I saw looked like a huge brick well. Back in victorian times the people would fill the house with ice from the pond. They would then store their perishable food in there during the summer. I suppose the brick kept it from spoiling. Although I despised this mound for quite a few days I now adore it ... as it is something from history that cannot be touched.

I am also including photos of my flat. For those of you who remember the old days, I have lived in a classroom here at TASIS, with a shower that fell out of the wall, and a white board as my art. I have since been promoted I suppose, and am now living in an apartment with 2 showers ... one of which is in my kitchen. Weird, yes.

Tonight I took 50 kids into central London to see Chicago. Turns out Jerry Springer was a main character (which was quite interesting I guess.) Even more interesting was when we passed "Thriller" ... there were TV stations everywhere and monuments dedicated to Michael Jackson. It has been an interesting week ...

Finally, I have added pictures of my Roommates. I have finally gotten rid of the million daddy long legs (I think) and am now living with a gigantic ANT ... I think. Ew.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My roommatesMy roommates
My roommates

Uh, what IS this???
Our BuildingOur Building
Our Building

Vicarage Muse


29th June 2009

Your Roommates
I have a strong feeling that the source of your many rommmates may be from the cool ice house. If they turn the dirt each day they disturb the critters living in it, the critters then scatter.......hence your roommate problem figured out. Love the pictures and your blog, hope you are well and enjoying yourself. Krystyna

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb