The Start of Summer 5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Egham
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I made it across the pond with no major mishaps. I've been here for what seems like years now ... rambling around in my enormous flat that will house 6 girls in the winter school. Orientation week has gone fairly well ... as it is my second summer as the Activities Director here at TASIS things are going much better than last summer when everything was new and I felt like I could mess up just about anything. This summer, however, my job seems easier, like an old hat. Placing the "Abdullahs" and the "Faisals" on a trip is second nature and I can now easily alphabetize Arab names (whereas last summer they all just seemed the same to me!) Tomorrow is registration when the kids finally show up. As I am no longer a mere teacher, I have no airport runs. I almost feel sad that I don't have that chance to find a straggling student in Heathrow Airport. Although this summer I have 17 students who are 12 years old and under. Quite a few 10 year olds ... when you let kids wander freely about London this can be a bit stressful. Who really sends a 10 year old to another country all summer anyway? Oh, the life of the wealthy can sometimes be as sad as the life of the poor.

Hope you are all enjoying your summers ... or will be once school finally lets out 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb