Portman Road on 3/4/10


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Ipswich
April 8th 2010
Published: April 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

goalgoalgoal

Crimax photo!
Portman Road on 03/04/10


My mother-in-law, Mary is mad about football and has been a fanatic Ipswich supporter. She loves taking us to Portman Road Stadium while we are visiting them in Suffolk, as we have often brought good luck for Ipswich Team.

Despite a short credit on my mobile, I texted her, "We're at Ipswich Station with a view of Canary Stadium." in the afternoon on 31 March on the way to Bury St Edmunds. She replied, "We're taking you our sacred place on Saturday."

John drove us to Portman Road Stadium in the lunch time on 3 April. We had picnic lunch in his car and had a rest until the gate for the stadium would open. There was a series of shower going through around Portman Road. Mary said, "It's your fault! You have brought rain from London."

Luckily, it stopped raining when we walked to the stadium, and the pitch looked stunning. Both Ipswich and Reading players and children came out and did warm-up before the kick off. The Ipswich theme song was played and supporters were singing. The match started just after 3pm.

The Ipswich Team kept attacking in the first half. I took a number of pictures of players trapping the ball, delivering the ball, and running on the pitch. At the 30 minutes of the first half, one of the Reading players committed a nasty tackle and he was sent off. The Ipswich got an advantage and was given a first corner kick. I remembered the statistics that 85% of goals were made by the set play, e.g. corner kick, free-kick around the Penalty Area. I zoomed up my camera and pointed the lens towards the Reading goal. Several blue players were gathering the goal and waiting for them to put the ball to the net. As soon as the Ipswich player had delivered the ball, I put my index finger on the shutter button and pressed it. In the meantime, one of the blue players hit the ball towards the net. Then, I made a crucial picture of the goal scene, just before spectators stood up. Mark and I confirmed with the review programme that the ball was in the back of the net. I screamed, "I did it. I've wanted to take the dynamic photo for a long time." Ipswich score another goal later and it made
2-0 lead in the first half. Reading got a goal back by the free-kick given just outside of the Penalty Area in the first half.


Ipswich won 2-1 on 3 April. I told about my achievement to Mary. She was thrilled. She was very happy with the result and seemed to have agreed with commentators on the Radio Suffolk.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb