Ready for a new Tandy adventure. Bavaria here we come.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Staffordshire
June 5th 2017
Published: June 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

A different trip this time. Not our usual France but Germany. Bob wants to visit some spectacular castles and steam railways and I’m agreed so we will be heading for Bavaria via Belgium leaving tomorrow at the crack of dawn.

Seem to have been very busy this last month and it’s taken an effort to get Tandy ready for the off.

We’ve only been out in Tandy once this year so far. We had 4 days in the Lake District in early May and were glad we had as Bob realised there was a problem with Kisbee scooter’s starting mechanism. All now sorted fortunately as it could have been tricky if we had gone away with a scooter which refused to start.

The garden is looking quite magnificent as we’ve had some glorious sunny weather, as well as the rain it also needs. The back garden is dominated by bright red tea-plate sized poppies. The front garden was completely reworked in late autumn with proper edging and paved paths and I’ve spent a lot of time replanting then encouraging the new plants to grow. Will undoubtedly be glorious while we’re away.

We took a Winter break to Singapore in February to escape the greyness of winter and had a superb 5 days exploring a place we’ve visited and loved before but not for 10 years. Much has changed and all for the better. Highly recommend this for a winter break.

In between times I’ve been busy busy with my glass. It’s very unusual for me to go a whole day without making something or other. But now my Joysofglass shop on Folksy is closed for the duration of the trip. I often think I should carry stocks of my fused glass jewellery to sell while I’m away but never quite get round to sorting things out before we leave.

My right hand which was in a pretty bad state by the time we returned from our September trip is much improved following surgery at Christmas and I have regained 90% of its use. Really pleased as this time last year it would have been impossible to do all the gardening I’ve done this spring.

As well as reworking the front garden since our last trip we’ve also done the same to the kitchen. Keeps Bob out of mischief planning and managing the projects while I’m glassing.

I do feel a little guilty, always do leaving home this time of year. Our garden is full of birds, many babies, all of whom have free board and lodging. I've left plenty of food out and instructions to take it steady as once it's gone, it's gone.



Now well ready for a relaxing few weeks in Tandy with expectations of spectacular scenery and hopeful of summery weather.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



6th June 2017

Lovely pictures...
Have a great time in Germany!
6th June 2017

Thank you
xx

Tot: 0.488s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 146; dbt: 0.3755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb