Bath Bound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
January 11th 2008
Published: September 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.3814, -2.35745

Jim and Steve picked Beth and I up from work and we started west. Now in true British fashion as soon as I told my colleagues we were driving to Bath I got many, "The traffic on M25..." or "Hope you don't get stuck up on the M4." or "Depends on when you leave but you may never get there." I guess when you live on an island you are less inclined to drive. I had to explain that a three and a half hour drive is nothing for an American.

And we were off. Unfortunately it gets dark so early that we couldn't really see the landscape. All was well until we hit the M4.... the traffic. It wasn't on the scale of LA but it was a pain. We needed a stretch, some petrol and a loo so we stopped at the Reading Services. Whilst in the loo Beth and I were talking about the traffic and a woman asked Beth, "Where are you heading?" Beth answered, "To Bath." The woman asked, "Where?" Beth replied, "Baath." (Now you have to stretch that a.... Baath) The woman then miraculously knew where Beth was talking about and replied, "Take the A roads. Avoid the M roads." We have been laughing about this since. We were in Baath with Beth. So on the woman's advice we took A4. Much better. But we ran into some snow which slowed us a bit. Not Michigan snow, it wasn't sticking but I am still a little unsure about the Egg's handling so I took it slow. We arrived in Bath (Baath) and checked into our B&B. We stayed at Bridgenorth House (http://www.bridgnorthhouse.co.uk/index.php). Our hostesses were Italian and very helpful. Once we had our hands on a map we headed into town for a pint.

Advertisement



14th January 2008

Pretty funny... I'll remember that next time I'm in Baaaaath. Louise BrownTravelPod Community Manager

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb