Bath.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
March 12th 2011
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 into my time overseas and I spent the day in the World Heritage city of Bath, found in the countrys south west. The city of 85000 people is the home of the Roman Baths, The Royal Crescent & The Circus, each of these having a cultural historic significance to the area. Currently I am staying in a B&B in Freshford located just outside of Bath.
Jackie, my aunty dropped me at the top of Ralph Allen Drive (one of the main entrances into the town) after we had a cup of tea with my great Aunty this morning. Although it was 10 degrees today, the 20 minute walk down into town doesn't take long for the body to heat up! I walked around the town for a good 5 hours, which has changed immensly since I was there last 6 years ago.
The Roman Baths, well worth the £12.00 entry, is an historic site of public bathing. The Baths are in a well preserved condition, with a lot of the artifiacts found around the site still in pristine condition.
I caught the train back to the B&B, Cityrail back home does not compare, with the Bath rail service providing punctual on-time services and clean trains.
And for lunch I picked up a Scwartz Bros. hamburger which has got to be Bath's secret weapon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb