Bath on a Budget


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
April 20th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our extended, globetrotting exploits may have reached their conclusion a long time ago, but as many of you may know, James is determined to keep up the travel writing in one way or another.

I've pretty much given up on the delusion of making a career out of it - my two weeks working on the travel desk at the Independent was a great experience, but didn't really lead anywhere. However, I still gain a great deal of pleasure from the writing process, so I'm determined to keep it up, even if it's only as a hobby.

In order to get a bit more exposure, and feedback from people in the know, I'm going to be publishing most of my stuff from now on, here - www.simonseeks.com. They have higher standards, and there's more rules and regulations regarding what/how authors can write (including a strict word limit of 800-1200 words - so no more of my epic, essay-length novels, I'm sure many of you will be pleased to hear 😊) and everything submitted to the site is vetted by a team of editors before being approved for publication.

I wrote one piece for them on the Angkor temples a few months ago, but haven't really had the time since. Any time I have found has been spent concluding our main travelling story on this blog. But now that's finished I'm aiming to write at least one guide every month or two for Simonseeks.com (probably focusing on just one particular place and, most likely, how to get the most out of a tight budget). Following our recent weekend trip to Bath, I submitted a piece called Bath on a Budget, which was accepted and has been doing very well in terms of reader views and ratings. You can find my Bath guide here - Bath on a Budget.

I'm hoping to produce another piece in the next couple of weeks, this time covering our Easter break in Guernsey, and from then on I should be submitting stuff fairly regularly. Anything of mine that does appear on Simonseeks, I'll also post a link to it on here. This way, any of you who are still interested in reading my attempts at being Bill Bryson will get an email alert when I've produced something new. Conversely, if you are simply annoyed that you're still receiving these updates, I think there's an option to unsubscribe somewhere in the email, or just ask me and I can take you off the mailing list.

Anyway, if you can spare a couple of minutes, please have a look at my Bath piece (like I said, nothing on Simonseeks is ever going to be much more than a 1,000 words) and, as always, any feedback is appreciated and positively encouraged! 😊

Cheers guys,

James x

Advertisement



3rd May 2010

Bath
Loved the item, and will deffo look at using the info, comment placed, Thanks James, xxxxx

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb