Moving on to jolly ole England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
August 30th 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The hills surrounding BathThe hills surrounding BathThe hills surrounding Bath

The city centre sits in a valley of hills.
I left Belfast early this morning en route to Bath, England. After a flight to London Heathrow, a train to a station near Heathrow, another train to Twyford (or something similar to that), another one to Reading then a final one to Bath, I finally arrived this afternoon.

Due to its hot springs, Bath is a renowned spa town which is located near Stonehenge (my real reason for coming here). The city is actually quite nice as it has catered to those on vacation (or “on holiday” as the Brits put it) for hundreds of years. Interestingly, the town has all kinds of sweets stores - ice cream, chocolates, fudge, pastries, candies… you name it. There are dozens in this small town. I noticed more kids than fat people so I assume that means it’s somewhat of a family town.

Upon arriving, I left my bags at the hostel and aimlessly walked around the town. I came upon several of the sights in the tour guides which I’m looking forward to learning more about tomorrow morning when I take a guided tour. I also had a salmon stuffed pasrty and went to Coeur de Lion, the smallest pub in
Pulteney BridgePulteney BridgePulteney Bridge

This bridge is a replica of the Bridge of Sighs in Venice, Italy.
Bath. There I had a Sunday dinner beef roast and a couple pints of a locally brewed cask ale called Bellringer. It’s good to be back here - I love England’s cask ales.

Tomorrow, after the walking tour, I head out to Stonehenge in the afternoon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb