Day 19 - Ascott - Lee Brockhurst


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire
July 27th 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me on the phoneMe on the phoneMe on the phone

I am trying to take different style photos of myself!

Day 19 - Thursday 27th July



After feeling so good yesterday I suppose it was destiny that today I would feel tired. It felt like a real effort walking today and from about 10am all I could think about was the pub I was aiming for at the end the day and what I was going to order when I got there. My most popular fantasy in the 2 hours before I got there, was a pint of orange juice and lemonade with a separate pint glass of ice that I would tip the drink into bit by bit so it would be really cold. Unfortunately when I got to this pub it declared to me, via a sign on the door, that it only opened at 5pm on weekdays and thus it did not matter how much I had been dreaming about the orange juice and lemonade I wasn’t getting any! So then I thought fine I’ll just call a taxi and go to the B&B I had booked in the nearest town - Wem. No mobile phone reception. I found a phone box just down the road. No taxi’s available for 2 hours. So I had a quick look at my map, decided where I could walk to in 2 hours and booked a taxi to come and pick me up from there since I didn’t really want to sit around the pub that wasn’t open for that long.

Of course what I had failed to realise in my quick look at the map was the two hills that were between me and where the taxi driver was going to pick me up. So an enforced march followed and I stormed along. I think having a timed objective made me walk a lot faster… I have to even admit to jogging down the hills some of the way! I arrived only 10 minutes late for the taxi and Des the taxi driver was fine with that!

The other feature of the day which you may have spotted in the photos was the combine harvesters. I had to take photos of them for my Dad but I hope everyone else enjoys them as well!

Todays Stats
Start Time - 6:20am
End Time - 2:10pm
Miles today - 11.10 miles
Miles Cumulative - 177.39 miles
Steps Today - 23,629
Steps Cumulative - 361,673
Blisters - 3
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 25c



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



30th July 2006

Lark
Maybe I could have a go at this walking lark - my qualifications? I dream about the pub from mid-morning too!
1st August 2006

The combine pics are great. Makes me feel very home sick. Keep going Helen - remember riding in the trailer with Grandad driving. Love Andrew

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb