Day 20 - Lee Brockhurst to Estanston


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire
July 28th 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 20 - Friday 28th July



After feeling so tired yesterday I decided to have a lie in this morning and start walking a bit later. I was also reassured by the weathermen saying it would rain overnight and be a lot cooler today… THEY LIED… THEY DON’T KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH THE WEATHER… THEY MAKE IT ALL UP!

I want to see a daily KPI (Key Performance Indicator) report on how accurate weathermen are on the previous days forecast. Measures such as:
1. Actual Rain / Predicted Rain x 100 = Rain Accuracy percentage measure
2. Actual Temperature - Predicted Temperature = Temperature Variation measure
3. Actual Time of Rain Start - Predicted Time of Rain Start = Rain Start Time Variation measure
4. Actual Rain Duration - Predicted Rain Duration = Rain Duration Variation measure
I think the measures should be available at a local level and then averaged for the national weather forecast.

For those of you that don’t know what I do in my consulting work, it’s a lot like the rubbish above but people pay me for it!

Sooo…. It was hotter today than I thought it would be and after
Helens FootHelens FootHelens Foot

Lovely trouser & sock combination I think you'll agree?
my full English Breakfast (Aha I hear you cry - the real reason I started walking at 9am!) it was again quite hard work walking. I finished at midday after only 4 miles of walking and got a taxi back to my B&B in Wem. Reassuringly I am still slightly ahead of my revised schedule (This is the schedule I have not told anyone about so there is no pressure on me!)


Todays Stats
Start Time - 9:25am
End Time - 12:00pm
Miles today - 4.09 miles
Miles Cumulative - 181.48 miles
Steps Today - 8,625
Steps Cumulative - 370,298
Blisters - 2
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 28c


Advertisement



1st August 2006

Breakfast
Well done - I would struggle to do 4 miles after a cooked breakfast! And yes, they are willing to pay a lot of money for KPIs - if it ticks their box it's OK with me.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb