preparing to go in my grandfather's footsteps


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire
May 31st 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

RE-starting my blog after a long time; getting excited about my trip to Montreal, Canada, in the footsteps of my maternal grandfather. When he was 18, with his 20 year old brother, he set off by cattle ship in 1905.

I have found a container ship to take me a similar journey, though I must go to Portugal to meet the ship! heyho.

So preparations are in full swing, particularly getting family history info together to show to relatives on the other side of the pond. Altho' my grandpa only stayed for 20 odd years, marrying my granny and my mum born there in Saskatchewan, they returned to England when my granny became ill. My mum was 3 yrs old. however, several of his relatives stayed there, and it's his brother's daughter Letitia who I'm interested in meeting for the first time since I was small.

Advertisement



3rd August 2012

Hurrah!
Wow, I've managed to read your whole blog of your trip now - thanks so much for the link. It does sound like a great adventure, and makes me wish I had planned to go out to see my aunt after all (though I probably wouldn't have gone because of wanting to be here for Chloe, so no doubt all worked out for the best). I've slightly lost track of when you get back to the UK but it must be pretty soon - or maybe you are already here? I shall email. Lots of love to you XXXXXX

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb