journey's start


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
June 10th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been really difficult to get prepared and set off, what with having the flu for weeks, and then the ipad incident (where I bought a new ipad, only to have it stolen a few days later, with all the related complications, police visits, forensics, not to mention hours of talking to insurance people etc. thankfully resulting in receipt of new ipad the day before I left UK).

Sorry to moan, but it has been like wading thru mud! Still, I did manage to copy some family trees, photos, and letters for the relatives in Canada.

I found a container ship to take me as passenger across the Atlantic, sadly not from Liverpool, but from Lisbon, and arriving in Montreal as my grandfather and his brother did, which feels very exciting. Sailing along the great St Lawrence estuary, the stately entrance to Canada... so here I am in Lisbon and the ship sails tomorrow!

A badly delayed flight from Gatwick to Lisbon via Manchester (we never really found out why) saw me arrive here at 12 midnight last night, and rather exhaustedly finding my delightfully old-fashioned penseo (B & B) was up 3 flights of stairs at 1 am. Thankfully a young student came to my rescue and carried my bag up to the top. And we were met by the kind motherly Lilianna in her nightie!

So after a good night's sleep and a wander around the cathedral - where I was regaled by lovely choir practise - I made my way up to the Castello De San Jorge, right on top of the nearest hill. Lisbon seems to be on many hills, very steep streets. Fantastic views down across the town and over the River Tago to the other side, with a slight breeze on my face to cool me. Heaven. I got so warm, wandering the maze of little streets and alleyways, had to return home for a rest and a cool down.

Advertisement



10th June 2012

Absolute Delight
Absolute Delight were the words i uttered in the closing circle of Andrew's Soul Food in Liverpool this afternoon ~ noticing sadly you could not sail from Liverpool as my relatives did many decades ago across the pond to Canada... exquisite lyrical a whole weekend taken deeper by Andrew and so what an absolute delight to receive your email with blog notification that you are setting sail across the waves! Absolute Delight ~ May your crossing of the Waves be joyful and blessed may your journey nourish your soul ~ with love Lxxx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb