Still in Lisbon


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
June 12th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Strangely our ship is still at the docks, awaiting unloading; apparently there are too few dockers to work on the ships, so we may have another day here. That's nice too, getting to know Lisbon, and really enjoying the warmth here. Delightful city, very easy to wander, feels very old.

I feel settled on the ship too, my room enormous, comfy bed, complete with fridge, ensuite bathroom, desk, will try to add photo. The only other passenger is a french woman of similar age, Francoise, who has been on board since France. The Polish captain is full of machismo, the crew are extremely polite and respectful, and the food so far is... fairly OK. Good I've brought plenty of my own.

Yesterday morning after being rudely surprised by a message to get to the ship by 9.30 (had previously been afternoon), mad dash to pack, dress, get taxi, and made it only a little late to meet the ships agent who took me there, quick meet the captain and 1st and 2nd mates, all very friendly. I was shown my room, and fairly soon discovered that we'd have the day free. So took a lift back to town with the agent, and enjoyed wandering town, botanical gardens, parks, and ended up enjoying the sun, reclining on a plastic seat near the river (smells like the sea) by the station. (Nicer than it sounds!)

Having now discovered we have another day here, Francoise and I took a bus back into town again today, and I've been wandering the alleyways and small streets of the Alfama area, old and moorish. The fiesta of San Antonio is today, and there have been streets full of bunting, revelry, gigs, since Saturday... seems to be ongoing celebration. tho there is plenty of evidence of great poverty, folk still seem able to have fun in Latin style, wonderful!

Pic of ship I took last night, plus one from my "window" - porthole? Where as you can see, I have a view of masses of containers! And one of my room.

I'm hoping that we will sail later today, as I guess we'll be later arriving Montreal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



12th June 2012

Miss you already!
Soak up that sunshine! it's pouring here....Much love, Adele
12th June 2012

Lisboa
Lovely to have your news, my love - glad you're enjoying the delay and it doesn't last too long! Your room looks wonderful!!! Huge hugs, G xoxoxooxoxox
13th June 2012

Nice view
Huge room, crazy view.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb