Ancient sites


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Isle of Anglesey
May 9th 2010
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hallo, here's an update of my last few days, starting back in N. W. Wales:

May 4th 2010
An unexpected visit from an old friend overnight and for a morning was a glorious intermission... I took her to the nearby burial chamber, and we were both very moved by the atmosphere there.
After spending most of last week on that friendly campsite, visiting ancient sites up and down the old Roman roads in the Conwy valley, and getting lost in the hills above, I escaped the Bank holiday rush by driving down to Denbigh to visit a 5W member & her husband for the weekend. They live in a cottage by an old manor house, where Beatrice Potter wrote the Flopsy Bunnies, the drawings of Mr Macgregors garden and the potting shed were all done there!
It was strange to stay in a house once more, and made me realise how much I love being outside. And the farmland around there such a contrast to the wilderness of Snowdonia.
Much appreciation to the friends who put me up with so much kindness, lots of laughter and fun, dog-walking in lovely valleys, and getting some washing done, always useful.

I took the scenic route back through the mountains the next day; I'm so glad I avoided the main roads. The majestic mountain peaks soared above me, making my heart sing - indeed I did burst into song at times!
I’ve now arrived in Anglesey to explore the island; I’m inspired by the Boudicca stories of ancient celts and druids living here.
(N.B. first photo is of Trefignath near Holyhead). Amongst others I’ve also visited Bryn Celli Ddu, a wonderfully reconstructed burial mound consisting of huge stones covered over by a grassy mound. All set in a quiet secluded field fenced off from the local cattle grazing nearby. I wandered an adjoining footpath and found a comfy rock to perch on to make some phone calls; ( a signal at last after several days of none!), gathered some dry kindling in case I find a place to make a fire, picked more nettles to eat.
Driving on southwards to Newborough, a poor little dried-up village, everything seemed to be closed down or for sale, and down thru the forest (didn’t spot any red squirrels though) - to the massive sand dunes and the sea......what a fabulous area, and a lovely long walk along the sandy beach and onto the “island” of Llanddwn, where a special lady St. Dwynwen, spent much of her life as a nun, after unrequited love with a welsh prince;
It is now dedicated to lovers everywhere! There are still remains of her small church, and a sacred well and celtic cross; I also saw some wild ponies and loads of colourful spring flowers on my way to the lighthouse at the end of the promontory.

There followed several days of exploring various ancient burial chambers and sites, both on Anglesey and on Holy Island, including several burial chambers and a “hut circle” of the bases of several celtic roundhouses, felt very atmospheric, I could almost feel the people living there at the base of Mynydd Tŵr, the only mountain in the area with Holyhead and the ferry just around the corner.

The RSPB have a base in a tower facing cliffs near there at South Stack, where the seabirds can be viewed through telescopes sitting on their eggs, balanced with no nest on tiny ledges! Quite amazing how they don’t all fall into the sea. Guillemots and Razorbills seem to get on very well together, but unfortunately they hound the dear puffins, so we didn’t spot any of these, although I saw a video of them there, made last year.


8th May; I’ve really enjoyed a day of resting, and reading the Guardian, my first newspaper for over a month, to try to make some sense of election politics: this seems no further on though!
And I decided to go find a launderette, my first machine wash for quite some time. Took some finding, but eventually, phew, such a relief to be surrounded by clean clothes!

I took advantage of being close to the burial chamber, Barclodiad-y-gawres, “the Giantess’ Apronful” which is locked up in the week, and took a peek inside at the extraordinary markings on some of the stones; spirals and “lozenges” and other marks. A huge chamber all beneath a mound of earth, and a delight to be inside, imagining what might have occurred in there in years gone by; it’s very close to the sea, so I spent quite some time on the shore afterwards, though the wind has been getting chilly. I’m really noticing the temperature changes, probably due to being outside so much. The plethora of ancient sites has made me feel somewhat overwhelmed, and almost obsessive at times; trying to get to see them all! However I’ve now let that go, and will see what comes, rather than plan too much.

9th May. I’m sitting in a Hotel in Trearddur Bay, where long ago my parents took us kids on holiday. i'm taking advantage of their Wifi facilities and nice coffee. I’ve really enjoyed staying on the cheapest campsites, I only need the basics, and shun the expensive ones. The last one, at Rhoscolyn, was within walking distance of a lovely beach plus the White Eagle pub of fab. food fame (had to treat myself, yum!).
I’m considering my return to “civilisation” now, with some dread, as have got used to the peace and quiet, birdsong and sea.....

Thanks to all for messages etc, lots of love, M xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



9th May 2010

travels
the barclodiad looks amazing margot. love your blogs sue xx
9th May 2010

inspirational Margot!
How fabulous to read a little bit about your experiences, great timing! I have been thinking about you alot in the last few days, glad you are having such a deeply nurturing time xxx
16th May 2010

I must go back.
Hi Margot Thanks for copying me in on your marvellous journey and for your card. I love the fact you were revisiting a family holiday on the 9th ! Last Autumn I was on Anglesey looking at churches, so really refreshing reading about the ancient sites you visited - great photos too. Looking forward to reading and seeing more......... lots of love - Tony

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb