In The Beginning, Tax back, The Man and The Plan....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Bicester
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

First of, I have left London.
I turned my back on the city that constantly penalised me wherever I drove, if it’s not bus lanes then its parking, if is not parking it is egger cameras at ‘yellow’ lights. The worst is getting a parking ticket for not properly displaying my residents parking permit (the wiper obscured the date apparently!). So I have 3 ongoing cases with various London borough councils, I’m dam well going to get some letters out of my fines if nothing else!

But that’s not really the reason I’ve left the big smoke, though finances are a major factor. Not paying a London rent is blissful!

I’m off to Australia at the beginning of February. I know this leaving the country for somewhere warm lark is becoming the trend of my life! But so what, I got a little tax back from the man, and dam, why not spend it on a plane ticket to the other side of the world.

It’s not really a holiday, its not really travelling, and I can’t say its work without a cheeky grin and wink, it’s a little of all the above. You may know that my bro (Jimmy) lives and works out in Sydders, well he is finishing his latest project this Feb, and needs a man who can weld! (Ill have to look over my GCSE CDT notes, but I’m sure it will all come back)

So that’s the first port of call, Sydney to acclimatise, then the Hunter Valley to finish off his building, and get some travel $$. From there, were gona pack his Ute with camping gear, maps, beers, green, DV Cams, and a whole lot of kites, and head Southish, when we hit the water were gonna head Eastish, when we hit the water again were gonna head Northish, you get the idea?….

I think we will get as far as Jim's Holden v8 Ute will take us, and I hope that we make Perth so I can visit those famous eastside Kitesurfin spots. No doubt there will be Surfin with and without kites, campin with and without supplies, walkin with and without reef, and general pommie larkin about.

Where I call it work (and grin manically), is that I will be taking, a couple of DV cams, water housing, a mini light, still camera, tripod, notepads etc… Cos I’m makin a film. Maybe two films, there is the Kitesurfin angle, I’m thinking about an interactive DVD of the hot spots in Ozz. But there is also the very human angle, the miles of empty road, the lonely bush towns, the crazy surfbums, the old abbos, the road trains, and big fuckoff bugs! There must be a story out there somewhere, and I hope to bring it back.

Peace OUT.


Advertisement



13th February 2006

Bluebottles
Did Jimmy pee on the stings?
13th February 2006

Action
No chortlin in the refuse can

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb