Visas, Maps and Excess Baggage.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

With two days till lift off my life revolves around the bathroom scales in my room, lonely planet roadmap and the Australian visa service.

The Quantas economy tickets that I’m flying with allow 20kgs of baggage, a bit on an issue as my kitesurfing kit is 21kgs. The solution involved a phone call to Quantas head office, I managed to convince a nice gall there that kitesurfing kit should be counted a sporting equipment and classed as say a sailboard. So hopefully I should be able to take all that kit free of charge!

Jim and I have been studying the roadmaps of Ozz, along with google earth, kitebeach.com and kiteforum. Were planning a week and a bit around Sydney, the hunter valley where Jim worked, and north of sydders at Seal Rocks where there are some great kite spots.
After that we plan to head south west, towards Adilade missing out Melbourne and that area and heading straight to west via Broken Hill.
Then its across the Nullabor, days of nothing but the insanity of open spaces, straight roads and scorching heat.
Esperance will be our next chance to hit the water, wind permitting. Then on to South Western Ozz.
Kitesurfing our way north with the last of the summer, Margret River, Perth, Shark bay and Geraldstown.
At that point, maybe mid April, we make a decision about weather on not we keep going round, all the way. Or hang out on the west coast, and fly back to Sydney from Perth having sold the Ute, or even drive all the way back! Who knows!!

Though at this moment the real issue is that Jim still hasn’t received his Visa! I applied for a 6month one and get it within 2 days, Jimmy applied at the same time, but so far nada! I may be doing the trip on my own!

Whatever happens ill be on QF32 on Monday morning and my next post will be from sunny Sydney.

Wish me luck.

Peace OuT.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb