I'm DONE!!! Finally...


Advertisement
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Exams have ceased to rule my life now!! So excited. However, it is also a sad day because people have already started to leave. 😞 Deborah and Cynthia left last week for Italy (I so totally wanted to go with them but my stubborn lecturer wouldn't let me write an essay rather than sitting the exam). They seem to have had an interesting time sleeping in airports and such because the hostel had overbooked. I won't have that problem, hopefully, when I get to Italy in 2 DAYS TIME!!

It's T-38 hrs for me to be in Roma, Italia. I have very high hopes for this trip to be an amazing adventure. I'm taking a Contiki tour of Italy for 10 days. I am going on the tour by myself but seriously plan on making a few friends to see Italy with that are also on the trip (and to avoid all the crazies, pickpockets, thiefs, etc). I am also greatly looking forward to some food that I can recognize and don't laugh at when walking down the frozen food aisle. The Brits really do eat some crazy things!

Plus the weather forcast is FAR better than the current English one. It has been about 53 F for the entire week with sun. However the sun here is not warm and therefore in May it has felt like November. Italy on the other hand will have some amazingly warm weather in which I plan to get some semblance of a suntan and not a burn. So much to see and do...I'm excited!!

After Italy I'll be back in Notts for a few days and then back to London and off to Espana con mis amigas Amy y Hannah. I might just brush up on a bit of Spanish (we'll see how much I can remember). We'll be visiting Barcelona, Granada & Madrid which should all be FABULOUS!! And then of course I'll be back in London for my incredibly looooong flight back to Cali. I'm really looking forward to going home, however I'm really not looking forward to the horribly long flight, the major jetlag, and horrible culture shock that I can guarantee will hit me within the first 2 hrs of me being home. But I do have a week before I start work so I'm hoping to adjust quickly, particularly to driving on the correct side of the road (ie the opposite of the Brits & Aussies). A great part of Europe all drive on the same side as the US, so why can't those on islands??? They just have to be different don't they. Anyways....my travels are coming to a close but it's been an amazingly wonderful year and I'll try my best to update this with more pictures before I get home but it may be that you see most of them when I get time (ie when I'm hiding out from the fast-pace bustle of the city).

Ciao for now!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb