I feel pretty, oh so pretty...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Scarborough
February 6th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I felt so frumpy today. I'm sure you can all relate to those days when you just don't feel good in anything you have. To be honest, I've neglected myself. After a good breakfast and a few cups of tea, I ventured into town in search of things to beautify myself. Bright pink nail polish, divine smelling body lotion and a body scrub. Back home I had a luxurious bath, making sure to primp and prime myself, well, for myself. With Valentines Day coming up, I was reminded that it is important to feel and look good, not only for the one you love, but more importantly for yourself. I forgot that while we've been travelling and waiting for news on India. So today was for me. I have pink toe nails and finger nails and feel more like my happy self. I feel oh so pretty!

I really love the train. While Gordon has been in Belguim and France for the past few weeks, I've been travelling from Scarborough to Huntly in Scotland. The house became very quiet once Gordon left, and considering that we haven't spent a lot of time apart, I wasn't looking forward to the next two weeks all alone in Scarborough. So I hopped on a train and went to vist Heather and Gordon Gillies in Huntly. It was a good week and was really nice to spend the time with them both. Unfortunately Heather hurt her back, but on the positive side of it, I had company the whole week. Heather is feeling much better now though.

Gordon has been having a good time in Belguim and France. Although the towns that he has been working/staying in have been small, Gordon, Oscar and Graciela (Gordon's new manager and his wife) have spent the weekends travelling to Amsterdam, Brugge and Paris. I have to admit that I am quite jealous when I hear about their sight seeing. The upside is that now Gordon knows how to navigate these places when he takes me there soon. 😊

I got quite a fright when I realised that my study material was online and I could start studying. I flew into action on Monday and got the ball rolling. So while Gordon has been away, I've made good use of my time and have started doing my Psychology degree. For the first time in a while, I feel motivated and have a goal I know I will achieve.

News about our visas... well, to be honest, there is none. McCain are still trying to work out which visa I need to apply for. You'd think they would have thought about this last year already, but alas, they didn't. Gordon gets back to Scarborough next week Saturday (in time for Valentines Day... yay) and then we will probably only start the application process. I am not sure how long it will take to get our visas, but if this process has taught me anything, it is to go with the flow and not expect too much to happen at any decent speed.

Given that we didn't expect to be in the UK much after the end of January and the suitcase space factor, I have a limited winter wardrobe which I have been wearing for the past 2 months. I am so tired of wearing the same clothes. Today I went in search of something more interesting to wear, but it just seems silly to buy things now since India's winter temperature doesn't get much below 25'C on a cool day and we're going into summer where temperatures are at least 40'C. So for now I'm wearing jeans, jeans and jeans and good walking shoes (since I don't have a car).

The week ahead looks promising. I have found a gym that I can attend for once-off training sessions, which is just what I need now. I am really trying to get into exercise again, specifically running. It helps to clear my head and I just feel better all around. So that will be the start to my mornings, followed by some studying. It's surprising how quickly I snap back into studying mode. That's definitely a blessing.

The best part of this week is the end, when Gordon gets back...







Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb