Dear Ayla: Hi back. Love, Norwich (and UEA)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post




They changed the logo! Not sure how I feel about it. Granted, the old one was pretty simplistic, but from a distance this one looks like someone accidentally hit the slash key instead of the “A”. Oh well



This is the square, where UEA students would gather in droves if the sun so much as hinted at peeking through the clouds a tiny bit. The railing and benches at the very top are new, but other than that not much has changed.

This is the only photo I have of the main part of campus. For all its wonderful qualities, UEA was designed and built in the 1960’s, when architecture was not at its peak. (Judging by the Hamilton College East/”Dark” Side, which was built around the same time, architecture wasn’t even at its middle.) So I will not besmirch the name of this amazing school by showing you pictures of its campus.

Instead, please enjoy this tree.


And this church made of flint, of which there are a lot in Norwich.


I think they’re quite pretty, actually.

Near this church, which is behind the UEA Village (where I lived), there’s a beautiful network of boardwalks and pathways through a glen, by a river, across a marsh, and by sheep fields.



No, really.



This walk was especially fun in the spring, when the sheep (the little white dots in the background) had their babies and you could see all the lambs frolicking around.



I came here a lot, especially in the warmer months.

Because in Norwich I was between couches, I had my duffle bag and my backpack, which get intense when you try to carry them everywhere. There’s no place in the Norwich train station to store items, especially now that European cities are on high alert, but the nice staff at the UEA student union let me keep my stuff in a back room with them. Unfortunately, because the University is 2½ miles from city centre, I was only able to wander luggage-free around campus. Not so much around town.
But here are some pictures I took from near the train station.



That’s the back of the Norwich Cathedral across the river. It’s such a beautiful building, even through trees and far away.






We used to come to this park to study/talk/hang out/really not do work at all. Was lovely.

Otherwise, if anyone reading this wants to see pictures of Norwich that I took 3 years ago, just let me know. If not, I’ll stick to this trip and just tell you that Norwich is a lovely little city with two cathedrals (the above one is bigger and prettier), a castle, an open market and lots and lots and lots of shops.

And horrendous bus fare. Ayla and Aleks (and any other former UEAers who happen to be reading this), did you know that they’ve upped it by 20p? Not that I’m totally shocked, given that it’s been so long, but students were protesting it even while we were there. I can’t imagine the uproar when they raised the price instead of lowering it.

Nottingham is next, then Sheffield.



Advertisement



8th October 2010

:*) THANK YOU. These pictures made my otherwise very ordinary morning at work. I'm going to suggest, completely seriously, that we hold the next reunion in Norwich. (Also, another 20p? REALLY? What was it originally, £1.80 or something obscene like that? I caved and bought a student pass, of course, but I do remember it being outrageous in 2007.)
8th October 2010

love Norwich
Hey Beth and I are loving your pictures......no wonder you love it there so much...be safe
10th October 2010

It was 2 pounds when we were there (I never got a bus pass, so I remember that CLEARLY. ugh). Now it's 2.20. It seems like a small difference, but when you're scrounging for change it becomes a huge deal. That 4.40 just for a trip to town. Oh my gosh a reunion in Norwich would be incredible.
10th October 2010


Your "instead, please enjoy this tree" made me laugh a lot. I'm supposed to be doing work right now, so you blew my cover ;P Hope you're having fun!

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb