I still don't understand the fish costume


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 9th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: barclays 15 secs
I like the English north. The buildings are made of darker stone and there's just something different about the atmosphere. The accents are different (I can't really describe them except saying "go watch The Secret Garden") and the people are 947 times friendlier than people in the south (who can be very friendly when they choose to be, don't get me wrong). The cities are said to be more dangerous - I certainly wouldn't go walking Nottingham or Sheffield alone after dark - but as long as you're with people, you can have a great time.



Market Square in Nottingham city centre. I love how many open markets there are here, with international crafts and jewelry and scarves and other cool things.



The market is directly in front of the city hall. This space is called "the lions" by locals.



Can't imagine why.



Nottingham Castle on the other side of town. There was a museum about Nottingham's history in here (did you know England had a civil war in the 17th century? I didn't) with an exhibit on the Robin Hood movie. Like Canterbury, Nottingham pays a few homages to its connection to fame, but they're not littering the city or shoved in your face constantly like they may or may not be in SOME CERTAIN cities (you know who you are).



No I'm not rich I promise! Fine, just take my guide book.



I like the animated version better. You know the one where Little John is a bear and King Richard is a lion (I see what they did there...)?



This is the oldest pub in all of England, established in the 12th century as you can see by the sign. When the English civil war happened in the late 1600's, this pub was already 500 years old - older than any building in America by a longshot. By CENTURIES. I will never get over things like this.



The ceilings were low and uneven and the rooms were full of locals who rolled their eyes when I tried to hide the fact that I was gaping and taking pictures.

Then I apologized and they heard my accent and it was pretty much all over.



My Nottingham hostess...the lovely Helen from Camp Thorpe.



Underneath the city is a huge network of caves dating back to the 1200's. They've been used for military holds, tanneries, slums, taverns, underground political movements, air raid shelters and probably a bunch of things I've missed. Oh and now tourism.



Sheffield!

This is a Swedish cider not sold in the US , for no comprehensible reason. It is absolutely gorgeous and I missed it very much.



Sheffield botanical gardens.



Greenhouses with tropical/desert plants.



City Centre: city hall with the Wheel behind it.



Heyyyyy. Kristen, remember this? They have one in the mall in Norwich. I have a store!



The Peace Park in front of city hall.



Sheffield is different from all other English cities because it has a FERRIS WHEEL downtown you guys. It's like the London Eye, only north, get it?

No but it was kind of cool to see this in the middle of a pedestrian street lined with upscale shops (WITH GORGEOUS NAMES).



The Cathedral. There was a choir singing here, so we couldn't take pictures of the inside. So just trust me that it was beautiful.



These guys were performing in a square downtown. We think they were promoting Barclays (a bank) but we're not sure why. This should also explain the video of stilt performers, though not completely.

Tomorrow Chester (small city on the border to Wales). Then...Welsh country!


Advertisement



9th October 2010

<3 KOPPARBERG <3

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb