A Beautiful Day in the City Centre


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
October 20th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Since it was so nice today, rather than work on my papers, I decided to go to the city centre to visit the castle.

I rode my bike into town, stopping first at Plantation Gardens. I happened to have a coupon for free entry and I figured I would check it out. It was alright, of course it is the middle of October, so the garden season is on its way out. I was surprised by how many flowers were still in bloom though.

Right next to the gardens was the Roman Catholic Cathedral. Norwich is super special and has both an Anglican and Catholic Cathedral. The R.C. Cathedral wasn't finished until 1910 and so isn't quite as grand and exciting as the Anglican one. But it was still nice.

From the Cathedral I went to Schuh, where Tina (one of my flatmates) works. I picked up a new pair of Birkenstock's using her employee discount. I am currently wearing them- I had forgotten how unpleasant Birki's are when they are brand new.

Then I continued to the Castle. I was a little disappointed with the interior. Most of it had been remodeled into a museum with art and stuffed animals and teapots and so on and it really didn't feel or look like a castle. One section was still like it had been back in the day.

The next stop was Mousehold Heath, which is a hill overlooking the town. Quite a ride up there! Good views, bad pictures because the sun glared everything out.

Then it was time to head home. Not a bad afternoon at all and I got my exercise!

Tonight I am going to the pub to watch England play South Africa for the Rugby World Cup Championship! Should be a crazy good time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

A Kitty on the HeathA Kitty on the Heath
A Kitty on the Heath

He was My Friend...


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb