Door Closing, Window Opening


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
September 23rd 2018
Published: September 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

With Storm Ali (which I heard as “Storm Alley”) blowing through, the weather’s been a bit of a challenge this week. However, I’ve been trying (and succeeding) to maximize my solo time before Fae, my longtime friend from Virginia, arrives Tuesday to ramble with me for a few weeks. I’ve enjoyed my solo time, but look forward to her fun (and funny) companionship as we explore Yorkshire, Scotland, the Lake District and Paris(!)

In the waning of September, I have:


• had a flu shot ($13)
• taken a coach trip to a windmill and “The Wash“ (a coastal bay) with local pensioners
• gotten a haircut ($15 Groupon!)
• done a “City of Centuries” walking tour of Norwich (with perhaps the most animated guide I’ve ever witnessed)


All good stuff - but despite the constant activity, I’m sorry to report that my actual walking numbers have plummeted, mostly because I have to drive somewhere else to safely walk - a real disappointment in this lovely village. I contributed to the campaign to acquire an electronic speed sign. It’s sorely needed; cars just whip through the lanes, even around blind corners. These roads were intended for horses and wagons, not for SUVs.

Enjoy the photos (there are a LOT more where these came from...) ?


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Bircham Windmill byproductsBircham Windmill byproducts
Bircham Windmill byproducts

(Lissa’s interior)
29 pensioners29 pensioners
29 pensioners

We counted them at every stop.
The Cliffs of HunstantonThe Cliffs of Hunstanton
The Cliffs of Hunstanton

They are 100’ high
HunstantonHunstanton
Hunstanton

Waterfront property
Norwich walking tourNorwich walking tour
Norwich walking tour

Standing in front of The Forum, build over a Roman garrison.
Norwich walking tourNorwich walking tour
Norwich walking tour

Our guide, Joy, acted out all the “parts.”
Norwich walking tourNorwich walking tour
Norwich walking tour

The finest flint wall in all of England. (Can you tell us why?)
Norwich walking tour (Art Deco City Hall)Norwich walking tour (Art Deco City Hall)
Norwich walking tour (Art Deco City Hall)

“If a Royal visits you, even just once, you become e Royal City, and get a lion on your standard, and you damn sight never give it up.”
Norwich walking tourNorwich walking tour
Norwich walking tour

“If ever you see a raised church yard, it’s because during The Plague a lot of people died, and they just kept chucking them in, so the piles grew taller and taller...”


23rd September 2018
Norwich city market

I'll feel sad when you leave there. Sort of feel like I've been there with you. Great pictures as usual! Love your hair!
23rd September 2018
Norwich city market

Me, too!
Yes, I’m feeling nostalgic about this cottage, but need to remember why I’m here (to explore and have “authentic” experiences of places). I’ve met many kind, funny and helpful folks, which has been great, now I just need to find others with different accents (I can ALMOST distinguish between Yorkshire and Cumbria now). Yes, I was amazed at the quality of my cheap cut! (However, she kept me waiting 40 minutes past appointment time, ran out of hot water in the middle washing my hair, and totally soaked my turtleneck...) ?
24th September 2018

Hello
Your experiences sound wonderfully intergrated with the your community, and your desires and interests. Which is your signature travel style I admire so much. Have fun with Fae. Even tho I’m having a wonderful time here in Italy, I admit to a very real and sharp pang of regret that I’m not the one joining you on Tuesday. I’m likely the world’s photographer, able to make the Adriatic Sea look like a puddle in the road, so please, If you so wish, google these cities to get a good idea of where I am: Ostuni, Bari, Alberobello. This last one is really unique and interesting , as is everything, in its own way. Until this coming Monday We are staying outside Ostuni in 3 or 4 hundred yr old stone Villa surrounded by vineyards, olive, fig and pomegranate trees. Cacti, tropical flowers rioting around and lots of good wine! The villa has been in the same family from the get go. The youngest member, a young guy in his 30’s has been very good to us and helpful with good advice and directions! City maps are only useful if the city Fathers adhere to them by actually affixing street names and numbers to said street, which they mostly don’t. We are going to the Adriatic coastline for the day and tomorrow we will take the train into the old town part of Bari. Excited about that! Love you, think of you and tell Fae hello for me. ?Jolene
24th September 2018

Wish you were here, too!
Your trip sounds amazing, and I’ll look up the towns you named. Yes, I wish it were possible for us to “beam over” to visit one another in our respective homesxaway-from-home! Once Fae arrives, it’ll be pretty much a mad dash north and back, then over to Paris (where I hope to find time to connect with Sylvie and Pascal - staying with them is one of my favorite travel memories with you....) Stay safe, and keep enjoying!!!
24th September 2018
Norwich walking tour

Great photos!
As always, you have a good eye ? for a great photo. Did you get a video of your tour guide? Chris & Barb had a rescue Greyhound.. Monty was the sweetest, most loving dog I’ve ever known? Fun to see the Greyhounds in your gallery. Have fun with Fae?
24th September 2018
Norwich walking tour

Video
Thsnks, Barbara - yes, got video of the guide, but only a tame bit (and still haven’t figured out how to post videos here - nor even how to edit typos in my own response/comments, dagnabbit!) happy to say folks were chucking money at the greyhound rescue folks, I had to break the line to get the shot! ?
24th September 2018
Norwich city market

LOL about your haircut experience. Geez.,,. Hope it wasn't cold when you went out with a wet neck! But yeah, the haircut is worth it. Very nice. Are you going anywhere where there will be a cockney accent? My favorite. I listened to so many recordings when I was doing Eliza Doolittle in my fair lady about a million years ago. Who knows where your new talent for distinguishing English accents will come in handy. Kiss the snoring Kitty for me.
24th September 2018
Norwich city market

Accents
Diane, I think London is where the Cockneys are... I can distinguish blue/white collar speech, and sense when someone’s from the country, but I find it impossible to imitate any of it - way too nuanced and complex! ?
30th September 2018

Messages
Hi A few days ago I responded to a couple things that would show up on your FB or Messenger. But unless I did something accidentally, I haven’t done it again. Hope all is well with you and Fae. We will leave the Puglia area tomorrow (Monday) and head up the coast toward a small town about 30 min. From Venice. We Will take about 3 days getting there. Have a house at that end for a week. Love to you Jolene

Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb