Rach's Great Gorilla Run


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 25th 2005
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

1km into the run1km into the run1km into the run

In front of the Tower of London
It started just like any other day........

The Great Gorilla Run

is a 7km fun run around the centre of London in a full length gorilla suit organised by the Dian Fossey Fund. If you remember the film 'Gorillas In The Mist'. Well Dian Fossey, who the movie is based around started this organisation.

I discovered this run in an Aussie magazine (TNT) and signed up immediatley!! Surprisingly I couldnt convince anyone (including Justin) to do it with me, so I did it by myself with Meagan Kelly as my cheersquad.

Not only did you have to run around the centre of London in a gorilla suit, as if that wasnt enough, you had to dress up your gorilla in costume. There were cowboy gorillas, viking gorillas, ballerina gorillas, hawiian gorillas, santa gorillas, football gorillas, kiwi gorillas, army gorillas, and a gang of gorillas on scooters....to name a few. So I wore my bikini, a pair of sunnies and the Australian flag.

The run started in the middle of the corporate centre of London, at the London Underwriting Centre, just near Fenchurch St station (See map below). It weaved its way over Tower Bridge, London Bridge, Southwark Bridge, Blackfriers Bridge and then the home straight to the finish line.

Along the way I managed to make 4 kids cry, collect 4 bananas, get 5 high fives, get my photo taken with 3 different hysterical asian tourists, and get an 'Aussie Aussie Aussie' to which of course I replied 'Oi Oi Oi'!! By the end of the 7kms I was drowning in my own sweat and itching to get out of the suit. But I would do it all again!

Apparentley this year was the biggest ever with over 700 participants......so........it is going to be in The Giunness Book of Records!

Thanks to everyone who sponsored me from Aus and the UK. I managed to raise £145 which goes towards saving endangered species of Gorillas.

I should apologise to you all because everyone at work now thinks ALL Aussies are as mad as me....sorry guys.

We hope you are all keeping well, and we will update you on our next adventures very soon.
Rach and Justin


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Me and a policewomanMe and a policewoman
Me and a policewoman

She just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time


2nd November 2005

Crazy Aussie
I did hear Aussies do crazy things when they go to London but never like this.I wonder what Martha will get up to. Love the photos.
2nd November 2005

You are crazy!!! 145 quid is a good effort though Rach.
3rd November 2005

You are a legend
Rach, of course your soft boyfriend wouldn't do it with you - cause that would mess up his hair!!!!
3rd November 2005

I am not surprised!!
No, that is not crazy - going around Saigon on the back of a motorbike - now THATS crazy!!! Great to see you having so much fun. Love and huggles to you both!
4th November 2005

That's what we miss! ..... you make us laugh!!
Hey Rach, your a classic!!! Love to you both.... nothing like seeing London on foot! I knew you would be missing me..... but I am afraid you need more than just a bikini and leg wax NOW!!! Try braiding.... Give me a bit of notice when you come back and I'll alocate enough time for you!!! ha ha
7th November 2005

That's just super!
Hey Rach..what a great idea! sounds like a lot of fun!!!....Looks like a cack!...

Tot: 0.422s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb