Trips are booked!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire » Cleethorpes
April 6th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So a little update to tell you that my trips are booked!
There are a couple of other short trips i am thinking of taking but i am still unsure about them at the moment. I arrive in San Fracisco on the Wednesday so figured i would spend the next 2 days exploring. On the Friday]I have booked to do the night tour of Alcatraz, i hear it is the most complete tour and the views of the bay will be amazing. I leave San Fran Sunday afternoon so I have plenty of time to see the sealion on Pier 39 and perhaps visit the Aquarium. I would like to sample Dim Sum in Chinatown and maybe brave an oyster in one of the famous Oyster bars on Fishermans wharf...just one though and chased with a cold beer!!!
I would like to do the movie tour in San Fran but for some reason the site to book the tickets just wont let me buy them 😞
I dont have any trips planned for Vegas as im only there 3 nights and i think the strip will keep me busy those days. I am as you know seeing Penn & Teller on the tuesday evening :D
Now LA is a different story all together. As i wont be hiring a car and everything is so so so far apart in LA it is a MUST that you meticulously plan your stay there. Thanks Trip Advisor forum!!!!
So I arrive in LA just before 4pm and I figured i would just stay Downtown and have a look at whats around me, grab a bite to eat etc.
First thing Thursday morning i have booked a 6 hour trip which takes me all around the main sites, Walk Of Fame, Hollywood Sign,Beverly Hills,etc etc. But this tour also takes me to the beaches of Santa Monica and Venice so i get that Baywatch part of my trip 😉 Its really good because a car trip to the beach from Downtown takes like 2 and a half hours so either way its a bit of a trek! I hear Downtown alone is around the size of Hull so that gives you a good idea how big LA really is!
On the Friday i have a free day and i am torn between taking a VIP tour of the Warner Bros lot or just hanging around Hollywood blvd. There is so much to do and I just want to get my fill before i go home.
Saturday I have booked a Dearly Departed tour for the afternoon. This i am really looking forward to as it takes you around all the "tragical history spots" like the old Tate house, Black Dahlia site, Viper Room,the bathroom where George Michael was caught erm relieving himself. Its a bit morbid but i hear its not all doom and gloom....we see the real Rydell High!!!
Now someone told me on Trip advisor that on saturday night they have their Fourth Of July celebrations at the Hollywood Bowl. There will be a big fireworks display plus Hall & Oates!! I hear everyone takes a little picnic and its meant to be a really great night. The tickets arent on sale yet but it if isnt too expensive i might just do that. I cant even imagine how amazing the fireworks will be!
Sunday will be market day and a trip to the Griffith Observatory(where Terminator was filmed) this has the best views of the Hollywood Sign so its a good place to spend a few hours. That night i will most likely have a really nice meal somewhere a bit special as it will be my last night 😞
Then Monday i have the morning so i can get a nice american breakfast before my flight back to dull UK 😞 Booo

So that is essentially my dream holiday...I will give a more indepth daily diary of such when im there but at the moment that is basically what I am doing each day...roughly!
Now to study the LA Metro map.........

Advertisement



6th April 2011

Sounds lovely!
Ooo your trip sounds lovely! Wish I was planning on travelling *jealous* Follow me back at: http://irishwishesarespecial.blogspot.com/

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb