A British Birthday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire
July 21st 2012
Published: July 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I was really happy to see that I am getting a lot of views on these posts. Firstly because I love to share what I'm doing with the people I care about, but Secondly, because I was feeling somewhat silly not writing to anyone in particular. So I hope you're enjoying them, I'll try to keep it lively. Today is my 18th birthday and as expected, I don't feel quite as different as one expects to feel. But I suppose I wouldn't just wake up magically feeling like a grown woman. Anyways, I had a lot of trouble falling asleep last night (or early this morning, I should say). That is probably due to the fact that I had slept until 1 p.m. the previous day; recovering from jetlag.

But as to not get myself confused, I'm going to start where I left off in my last entry. When I awoke from my nap I was able to meet Kate, whom I get on with wonderfully! She and Hannah both seemed to like the presents that I brought them, which I'm so happy about! A short while later, we went to eat dinner at Kate's friend's home. She cooked us a very nice meal and it was great to meet a few of Kate's closest friends. I was shocked though by their abrupt laughter at my accent when I apparently asked for a glass of "wader". We had a lot of fun exchanging different slang terms and I find it hilarious when they laugh at my accent, for I've never considered the way I talk to be funny. I got a lot of really adorable questions about life in America, the best by far being "What are cooties?". I actually found it quite difficult to explain the "made up disease that boys have".

As I said, yesterday I slept until the early afternoon, which seemed to cure my irregular sleep schedule. After waking up, Hannah, Sam, Kate and I went to Cedar Farm. It is a group of small, artsy shops and also a farm of sorts. I've been explaining to people, that while the state I come from is, in fact, a farming state, I am very much from the city. Everyone who knows me well understands that I am not outdoorsy by any stretch of the imagination, so it wouldn't have been shocking to see me running from the chickens that were on the loose. But they were very amused at my fear of these, in my opinion, obviously ferocious animals.

Last night, Kate and I went to dinner with different friends of hers, which was a fun time. I really liked Charlotte and Selina and I'm looking forward to spending more time with them! This morning Kate had a balloon and card for me, so 18 is already off to a great start. Today we are going shopping in Liverpool and then out to dinner. Afterwards they are taking me to some authentic British pubs, as the drinking age here is 18!

Advertisement



22nd July 2012

Birthday British Style
Uncle Grant wants to know if you hoisted a Guiness in the pub. Or perhaps a Black & Tan? Sounds like you're having a grand time. We are enjoying our 1st full day in St Maarten. Beautiful! Going to dinner & then off to feed the island kitties (yes - I bought cat food here!). Love you. Auntie Lis >^..^<
23rd July 2012

happy birthday!
hannah i'm here in germany visiting with jon erickson until the end of the month. happy 18th birthday. i hope that you're having a fun time, but judging from your posts it seems as though you are. i'll celebrate with you when you get back to the u.s.
24th July 2012

Thank you for the birthday wishes! Tell John that I say hi. I hope you are having a good time. I love you!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb