The Arrival!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire
July 19th 2012
Published: July 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have officially begun my travels and quite successfully thus far! Yesterday Dad and I had an easy drive down to Chicago and after battling the confusing parking directions, check-in, and a bittersweet goodbye, I made it to my gate. Quickly after sitting down, I noticed a rather large group of boys (and company) wearing matching t-shirts labeled "San Antonio Lions' Futball Club". While watching the chaos, I became content with traveling solo and simply. Little did I know, I would end up smack in the middle of this pack for the next 8 hour plane ride. At first I was extremely intimidated to be surrounded by 12 young men and their various parents, all yelling across to one another and throwing things. But as the flight went on, I really started to enjoy their company. I can honestly say that it was the fastest 8 hours of my life. I didn't get a wink of sleep, but I had quite a few laughs and made some funny memories. I left the plane with a happy attitude of having gotten to know complete strangers, even if I will never see or talk to them again. It gave me a confidence in traveling alone and being able to acclimate to a strange situation.

Anyways, after exiting the plane, managing through customs, and waiting for my luggage, I made it out to find Stuart (the father) and Hannah (the older daughter) waiting for me! After embraces, we got to the car and headed to their home, in the town of Aughton. Aughton is a half hour's drive from Manchester. The drive flew by while watching the incredible greenery go by! I have to admit, the dreary and rainy skies are most certainly worth the lush environment. I also enjoyed simply watching the buildings go by. Every one seems to be packed with personality, in a cute and humble manner.

After getting settled into my new room for the next three weeks, the three of us departed for a larger town nearby, Southport. Located on the ocean, Southport certainly wasn't what I was expecting. I counted 6 arcades on practically one street! Down by the pier, it seems to have a boardwalk, Coney Island theme, but in England. Hannah and I walked down the pier, which I expected to go out over the water, but no, the tide was so far back that the beach seemed to go on forever! I swear I have never seen so much sand. It was beautiful in a very odd way. Later, we spent time walking around a nature preserve back near Aughton, with one of Hannah's friends, Sam. We then visited the primary school that she works at. I have never seen so many absolutely perfecting looking four year olds in one room. Their accents only made it more adorable. They seemed very excited by the fact that I'm from America as I got a lot of smiles and waves.

I'm now resting up and debating taking a nap. I know it's going to be a good trip when I already don't want to sleep because I'm worried I could miss out on something fun! I've met Anne (the mother) now and she is extremely nice and very welcoming! Now I just have to wait until Kate returns from work and then I'll have met the whole family! I don't know what else is instore for tonight or the rest of the trip for that matter, but I suppose that's the adventure.

I love all my family and friends who are reading this and I hope you're doing well!

Advertisement



19th July 2012

YAY
I'm so excited for you! What an awesome experience you will have this gap year. It is a privilege that most Americans do not get to experience and I wish they could. Have a wonderful time, take lots of pictures, and thoroughly enjoy all this amazing world of ours has to offer!
19th July 2012

Hello Hannah!
I have just finished reading your blog and enjoyed it immensely. Of course, since you are my beautiful granddaughter, I am a bit biased. So glad to learn that you arrived safely and that you've already begun your adventures. I think, from what you've written, that will enjoy your time with the Kirbys and that you and they will become fast friends. I look forward to reading about your trip in the days to come. We are going up north to our cabin on Monday and will stay for a month. I hope I can get connected up there. Love you. Grandma sends her love also. Grandpa

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb