7 days to go and ultimate chaos reigns.....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Fleetwood
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Father ChristmasFather ChristmasFather Christmas

Yes my talent knows no end...
Am I excited???? Not sure is the honest answer.

I still don't think that it has actually hit home yet that I am actually doing this and not just thinking or talking about it. Yes I hold my P45 following my last day at work last week and earlier today I sold my car (after a long time of panicking that I would have "give it away" to a garage Autotrader pulled through for me) but even still my mind isn't quite in the mindset that this time next week I will be packed and ready to head to the airport at stupid o'clock with a large and undoubtedly heavy suitcase and ski bag (with a single set of skis and ski clothes packed away in it) in tow.

I have started on the seemingly never ending goodbyes to friends and family. It started with Andy and Tracey having a "Good Riddance" party at the beginning of December. This proved to be the usual banter filled night with a lot of amusement. Then came the goodbyes with work where I was able to keep it together despite various attempts throughout the day to try and make me crack although I did have a minor wobble on my way out courtesy of Elizabeth.

The time then came for me to move out of my temporary home at Rachels and return back to my now official home - Mum and Dads. Christmas was spent at home with Mum, Dad and Tim. Santa came and went and was as generous as ever and seemed to know that I was off on my travels and the majority of my presents, as requested, were travel related =;0) Tim then headed back home to Newcastle with him making a polite request that I try to avoid coming home in a plaster cast of any sort given his wedding will be only 3 weeks after I get back and a cast may not look so pretty with my bridesmaid outfit (Jane has yet to comment or issue any polite requests)!!

Deirdre came for a quick visit after Christmas and her flight to Rio is now booked so she is now as committed as I to visiting South America - (a hint to anyone planning on being out there around the same time is to leave asap!!)

The next and almost final round of goodbyes will happen in the next few days when I return to Bury for New Year. Obviously the final goodbye is reserved for Mum and Dad at the airport and I'm sure that there will be a few damp eyes around.

I'm sorry if I haven't been able to say goodbye to you personally but it hasn't been intentional life has just been manic for the past few months. Anyhow this will be my last entry for the year so I want to wish you all a Happy New Year and I hope that the year is as much fun for you as (I'm hoping) it will be for me. Please stay in touch with me in 2009 it will be great to hear what your up to given you will be able to read all my news.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb