Boat ride to the wind farm and Maunsell Forts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Ramsgate
September 28th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.3347, 1.41787

As a birthday gift to me Kim had booked a boat ride from Ramsgate Harbor out to the wind farm and the Maunsell Forts. The wind farm is one of several in Southeastern Kent and is off the shore of Herne Bay/Whistable. They are pretty to see spinning from the shore but it is not until you are up close do you understand the size of these monsters. Near by the wind farm is one of three remaining Maunsell Forts. This one is the one built at Shivering Sands. From Wikipedia: The Maunsell Sea Forts were small fortified towers built in the Thames and Mersey estuaries during the Second World War to help defend the United Kingdom, named after their designer, Guy Maunsell. They were decommissioned in the late 1950s and later used for other activities. One became the Principality of Sealand; boats visit the remaining forts occasionally, and a consortium called Project Redsands is planning to conserve one at Redsand. Originally there were 9 sets of forts built but there are only 3 remaining. In the mid 60's several of the abandoned forts were used to broadcast pirate radio stations. Shortly after moving here we saw pictures of these forts and they had fasinated me. This was a real thrill to see them up close.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



3rd September 2010

OMG those forts are wicked cool and the turbines are massive!
3rd September 2010

I know that windfarms have become very controversial here in the states - especially the east coast. You know that when in California, I live 5 minutes from a 4,000+ wind farm located in the San Gargonio Pass. You are correct - you don't
realize how big these things are until you stand next to one. I myself really like how they look. It is very calming watching them going round and round.Love you Manniexoxo
3rd September 2010

Steve... I have never seen such a thing before like these "forts". They are way cool. Where you able to go inside of one of these? They look wicked and forboding however, I am strangely drawn to them. I would love to go up in one of th
em. I can understand your fascination. Now I have it too!'xoxoxomomma
4th September 2010

I could live in one of those forts! I am jealous.
5th September 2010

I could see Steve, Tod and Brad living in one!
6th September 2010

Those forts are amazing, and the wind farm.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb