Doctors, cars, licenses, etc.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Ramsgate
December 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.3287, 1.41078

The party is almost over. I start work tomorrow. I am actually quite excited. Steve is going to drive me in and pick me up. I need to sort out the bus.

This week we have been trying to get things done that I won't be able to do once working. I came down with a horrible cold on Monday. I slept for about 36 hours (Monday evening until Wednesday morning). While I slept Steve took our rental car back. We didn't figure there would be a need for a car until we picked our car so he took it back and walked home. He also did a little shopping, got his hair cut and beard trimmed and stopped for a pint. All while I slept.

We had our first meet and greet with our doctor on Wednesday. We had gone in the week before to fill out the paperwork and were made an appointment for Wednesday. The waiting room was packed....a little scary. But we went right in. Our doc is very nice. He had to look up and "convert" all of Steve's drugs. He referred him to a rheumatologist. The earliest appointment he could get was Dec. 27th in Dover. To go to the hospital near here (Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Hospital...ha ha ha) he would have to wait until Jan. 14th. The office of our doctor (or should I say surgery... they don't call it the office, it's the surgery) is crazy. In his office there is his desk, bookcases and an examination table. It seems very rural/old school. We were worried about having to wait in a packed waiting room after seeing it. But Beth mentioned that I will be offered an additional insurance that gives us priority. I'm not sure if this is true but if it's offered I'm getting it!

Wednesday night we walked downtown for the switching on. This is what they call turning on the Christmas lights. The paper said there would be kiddy rides, they would be blowing fake snow, mulled wine, balloon sculptors, tall walkers and kmfm radio would be there. Well, there was one kiddy ride, one guy doing balloon animals, no mulled wine and the snow machine was about 6" in diameter. It was still fun and I am glad we went. We took a video of the switching on; you can find it at Steve's YouTube site. Steve's YouTube I am going to start putting the videos there. It's better for viewing. After the switching on Steve went out with Phil and I stayed home (still feeling ill). Phil introduced Steve to Eddie, he owns/runs Ramsgate Brewery. They sampled one of his beers and Steve says it was good. They hit a few pubs and then went for Indian dinner in Broadstairs. It was yummy (I had the left overs).

Thursday we didn't do much during the day. Steve spent a considerable amount of time on the phone trying to find reasonably priced car insurance. This as it turns out is not an easy task. Most companies wanted about £1500 a year and wouldn't give us a break once we got our UK licenses. We had State Farm email us a copy of all the claims we had in the last ten or so years. This was a huge benefit because you get a break if you don't have any claims in the last three years. Phil had recommended a company to Steve that ended up giving us the best rate. We will pay £450 a year and then when we get our UK licenses this will cut in half!!! Sign us up. Thursday night we went to pick up the car. Steve spoke to the guy from AA who did the inspection and he said we were getting a great deal. He also said, "It's a really ugly car." And it is. We read a review online that said it was a great car for over 50s. That hurts a bit but it's exactly what we wanted so who cares. We took the train into Chatham (took about an hour) and the seller picked us up at the station. No problem. We have a car!! Yeah!

After the hassle we were getting from insurance companies about our UK license we decided to do it as soon as possible. So Friday we drove to Maidstone (the closest DVLA location) to apply for our provisional license. It was easy as pie and the only bummer is we had to send in our passports with the applications. They assured us that we should have our license in three weeks and our passports would be returned before then. Once we have the provisional license we will need to take a theory (written) test then a practical (driving) test. Apparently these are not easy to pass. So we went to the book store and purchased a couple books to help us study up. They do funny things that you can be marked down for like applying the parking brake when stopped at a red light....don't know why, they just do. We are learning.

While out in East Kent we looked at a TV we found for sale on gumtree. It's a 28" flat screen. Nothing fancy, it's for the bedroom. We liked it and it came with the stand and the "digi box". Now you can get what they call free view channels here. You need a TV equipped for free view or you need a "digi box". You have to say this with your best high pitched British accent. I almost peed my pants when the woman said, "And it comes with the digi box. I don't have the book for the digi box but digi boxes are easy to set up." What!! So we have TV!!!! Yeah! I could have used this when I was couch bound sick...oh yea, I don't have a couch. The two things required when ill: couch and TV. No wonder I am having such a hard time getting over this cold.

Saturday was D-day for me....drive day. Steve and I decided to find a country road so I could practice driving. We finally found a road I was comfortable with so we pulled over to switch. We pulled over in front of a group of men putting up a brick wall. An old man working said to Steve as he got into the passenger seat, "You are putting your life in danger." He said this with a grin on his face. As it turns out I am not that bad. It's just a bit awkward to get used to shifting with the wrong hand, looking at the mirrors and squeezing between cars. You have no perception of where the other side of the car is. One thing is our ugly little Toyota is the easiest manual to drive. Next on the agenda is to teach Beth how to drive a stick....on the wrong side of the road. That should be fun!

So here are a few fun tid-bits.

We went up to a pub in Canterbury called the Blind Dog. Beth told us that the last time she was there a man walked in with two dogs (can't wait to take Lily to the pub!). Beth was petting the dogs and asked the man, "Are they blind?" ....The man looked at her like she was crazy. I guess Beth humor is not well understood here. I would have died laughing if I was with her. So I told her something that a British friend told us. If you are standing say at the bus stop a person may walk up and say, "Init." This is short for "Isn't the weather great, or rainy, or horrible." Your response should be, "Tis." Beth immediately said I am going to say init to someone! When we saw Beth on Friday I asked if she had said init to anyone....she said no but she heard someone say it to someone else and wanted to scream, "I KNOW THE ANSWER! TIS!!!" I laughed my ass off. She is so damn funny. We are so glad she is here.

The weather: Still absurd. I thought for a while there that my showering caused the clouds to come. Every morning I would get up, come down stairs and have a coffee while checking email or reading the paper. Sunny the whole time. Then as soon as I would hop into the shower.....clouds. Steve heard about a book newly out about Ramsgate weather. Normally I would not be interested in such a book but now this could be a great read.

Passwords: These people are crazy about security. When you log into any internet account here you must enter the craziest combination of numbers. Not your account number but a random number assigned to you. Then enter you date of birth. Then enter the second, fifth and next to last numbers of your ten digit PIN. And the requested numbers change. This of course requires you to break the cardinal rule of PINs and write it down. Strange.

We started up a Google calendar that you can check out when planning your trip to visit. Cuz we know you are all coming to visit. When you plan your trip just let us know what days you will be coming out and we will put it in the calendar.

White Cliffs Calendar

Ok. That's all for now. I must go watch some quality Brit TV....Gordon Ramsay!

Love to all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb