Hey look, London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Dover
February 25th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I made it here and I’m alive!!

Hi, I made it to my London stop! You don’t have to worry, Mom and Yetta.

I did my three subway-train-thing switches and got to my hostel this morning with no problem. The “tube” is surprisingly easy to navigate. Probably because it is colour coded and there is a recording playing of a British guy telling you to "mind the gap"..
London fact: it is super hard to find AA batteries for a camera in downtown London.
Elissa fact: my camera eats batteries like they are going out of style. (And I left the backups for the backups in my room.)
Consequently, there are some parts of the day were I was forced just to take mental pictures. Like at the Modern Tate museum, which was the coolest building ever. It was an old industrial building redone to display modern art. It had this giant warehouse-like room with slides that you could take down to different floors. Lots of cool stuff, famous stuff from Andy Worhol, Salvador Dali and Van Gogh. (those were the only names I knew) My favourite thing would have to be a sculpture by Salvador Dali, which was an old school telephone with a plastic lobster on top of it. He called it “Lobster telephone”.
And I would have to say, my favourite building so far is the Parliament buildings with Big Ben…it lived up to my expectations and then some. I had to back track when I got batteries just to take pictures of it. Of course almost all the buildings here are really amazing, every corner you turn is just awesome.
London fact: people here sure eat a lot of ice cream…and it was pretty cold out today….I was a little sad I left my mitts in Canada…and people are walking around with ice cream cones.
Elissa fact: Today, I had one of the greatest hotdogs ever made.
Okay, other people in my hostel room are sleeping I should probably stop typing b/c its annoying.

Cheers,
Liss


Advertisement



2nd March 2007

Me Again
Elissa I really had to laugh at the shower curtain comment. When I was in grade 11, I went to England with my class. We stayed in a hostel that had more showers than yours, although the shower curtains only covered your face. Now, that's embarrassing!
3rd March 2007

Hi Auntie Mary!!I'm so glad to here from you!! Ha ha ha! I love that story! I must admitt that I locked the door to the entire shower room (I don't know it I was allowed to do that). I have no idea what I would have done in your situation.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb