Operation London: Day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Elephant & Castle
February 26th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

‘Allo

Day two in London was a full day like the last one. But today I tried not to rush and cram everything into one day like I did yesterday which resulted in me burning out at like 8:00. Lets see, first, I went to see the changing of horse guards but either I was too late (I may have slept in) or I was at the wrong place…b/c there were no horse guards and they definitely weren’t changing. Then I hung out at Buckingham Palace for a bit, strolled through Green Park and James Park, which were once owned by the king but are now open to the public. Super pretty..lots of crazy ducks. Then I checked out the National Gallery…saw some paintings by Leonardo and Michelangelo among others. I ended up getting one of those headsets thingys that tell you all about the pictures b/c I felt I missing out some kind of imagery or something. Which I totally was, for example, there was this pretty picture of Venus that I liked because of the colours and fabric in the picture…but according to the recording one of the characters in the background had their hands reversed and reptile feet..to represent disease…which is something I totally wouldn’t have noticed. But, with the recording being so thorough and the gallery seeming like a maze it took longer then I intended and I ended up taking the London Eye at night. Which, don’t get me wrong, was totally amazing…but I’m pretty sure none of the pictures turned out…my camera doesn’t seem to like working at night. Speaking of pictures, I’m sorry but it looks like there isn’t going to be any added to the site for today or yesterday…I forgot my camera back in the hostel..and it is way to far to walk back to.

Umm, lets see, what else?

Number of times people asked for me directions: 3
Number of people I helped: 0
Number of times I had to ask someone to repeat themselves b/c I didn’t understand what they said with the accent: probably more then 30
Number of times I’ve been asked to repeat myself: about the same
Number of times I got lost in the National Gallery: a zillion
Number of minutes I sat in this full and quiet Internet café with my music blaring thinking it was just in my earphones: about 60 (how embarrassing)
Number of people I share my hostel room with: 3
Number of square feet of said room: about 16
How much it costs to use a public rest room: 20 pence
Number of double-decker red buses I’ve seen: oh, easily a hundred
Number times I’ve looked the wrong way when crossing the street: every flipping time
Number of times I’ve been honked at: just the once.
Number of times I tried taking the underground somewhere but ended up walking there instead b/c it was closer (or easier to find) then the opening to the tube: enough for me to stop buying day passes.
Number of hostel showers on my floor: 2
Number of hostel showers on my floor with shower curtains:1
Number of Kilometers you can see in all directions 135m up on the London Eye: 40

alright, enough with this game..I'm walking back and going to bed
'night



Advertisement



28th February 2007

oh liss
oh elissa...though i'm sure i'd look the wrong way everytime too crossing the street, i'm not there doing it. so i can laugh at you! =) and how did you end up finding out that your music was blaring and not just in your earphones? enjoy yourself and i miss you tons!
3rd March 2007

Hey Jesz!!! One of my earphones fell out of my ear....I was shocked to say the least. How was florida?!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb