Back to Winchester... last time before travel...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Winchester
July 2nd 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In all the years I have lived in Winchester, I’ve never really made an effort to go to the Hat Fair, but this time I was there at the right time, so we went in on Saturday, meeting Paula over a Cornish Pasty. Plenty going on in the city centre, and, it’s classic, I stand still for 5 minutes (this was literally) and run into 5 people I know, and keep bumping into people as I move around… I love Winchester! Got to see a Unicyclist, the vegetable-baby man and the long-neck Inspector Gadget types to name but a few. After a quick dash into Sainsbury’s we headed to Kate’s for her birthday BBQ, which was fun, relaxing, and I wasn’t driving. Karen and I then relaxed back at the flat, watching junk TV and drinking a nice bottle of French red wine - nice!

On the Sunday, Karen was out, so I headed into Winchester to catch up with Paul’s ordination ceremony at the Cathedral, arrived in time to sit behind a pillar and not see much, but got to catch up with Paul & Thaya afterwards and get a few pictures, so that was good. I then had a bit of a walk around town, before catching up with Andrew, Lynne & Caleb, and then to pick up Helen to head off to Christ Church for the evening service, Matthew Dietz’s first post-ordination service… we really picked up on the first part: “You want to make God laugh, just tell him your plans”… Keep trying to go to Vietnam for TEFL, it just wasn’t happening! After church headed round to John & Jeanettes.

Monday morning, I headed into Southampton to get my hair cut… I thought I knew where I was going so didn’t have address/postcode in GPS and ended up on some very random route, and being about 10 minutes late, but Simon still fitted me in, and made sure I have a haircut which will last the overseas, as I don’t think I’ll have another chance to get back to Winchester before I go away! Then got a chance to go and see Helen, with Jonathan. She had helpers, so we got a chance to go to one of those massive Tesco Extra’s - wow, they are huge. Found an 800g Down 2-3 season sleeping bag for £35 which is amazing, much as I worry about Tesco taking over the world! Was a nice afternoon, then headed off into the traffic before it got too late to get back to the parents.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Matthew Dietz, new curate at Christ ChurchMatthew Dietz, new curate at Christ Church
Matthew Dietz, new curate at Christ Church

Looks like he's already blessing someone!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb