More family!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Bournemouth
June 29th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got caught in a bit of traffic, so a bit longer to reach Ed’s than expected, so he was starving by the time I turned up, so we headed straight out, on foot, to Frankie & Benny’s for a very nice meal (I seem to keep saying that, there’s lots of nice food everywhere I go), with a bit of wine, and another good catch up - our family really doesn’t see each other than often! Back to the house for a bit of a look on Facebook and caught up with Hannah’s wedding pictures - lots of them! Then crashed out… Ed had gone to work by the time I woke up.

Spent the morning on the internet, sorting out car tax, on Facebook, looking up a few travel bits and bobs, and want my trip sorted soon! I think by this time I’d pretty much decided I didn’t want to go with i-to-i, so was looking at other options. No decision made, and I wanted to see something of Bournemouth. Not quite sure what happened but I ended up at Boscombe, so I thought that would do - went to park on the beach-front, but it was about £7.50 for four hours - not that bothered. Turned into a nearby side-street and realised no restrictions there, so parked up, and 5 minutes later was back at the beach. Watched some life-saving practices going on, then decided to see how long it would take to get to Bournemouth itself… bit windy, bit chilly (and there was still people determinedly sat on the beach)… and half-way along, rather hungry, so bought some chips (yum!)… what I hadn’t banked on were the crowd of seagulls wheeling around close to my head whilst I ate, so that wasn’t a relaxed meal! Not much further on I’d arrived at Bournemouth pier, headed into the city centre, and spent about 45 minutes looking at the travel books in WH Smith, bought a couple, then decided wanted to head back, so headed back to the seafront, and was in time to get the last sea-train back to Boscome, which was fun! Saw several surfers, kite-surfers and a sand-surfer on the way back - suppose the wind was ideal for that! Then headed for Winchester to catch up with Karen again, and into the cinema for Shrek 3 - very funny.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Surf-kiters...Surf-kiters...
Surf-kiters...

Viewed from the beach train


Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 91; dbt: 0.2229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb