The bigger the better?


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Size does matter, and I think this conference might be a little too big. There must be 1000 people at this one. Each day there are 5 sessions, with 17 concurrent panels or lecture groups within each. HUGE. Today was registration and some plenaries. There aren't too many people I know or recognise, but I was so excited to see my friend Edward that I skipped up to him and gave him a big hug. Not exactly professional! I opted to just go to the first plenary, which was a little confusing and difficult to hear thanks to some chatter boxes sitting around me. Afterwards, I bumped into some other acquaintances, mostly conversation analysts and ethnomethodologists. Some didn't seem to recognise me, then I remembered I'd met them when I had short, bright red hair!

Otherwise, today has mainly been filled with writing presentations. The weather outside is delightful - warm and sunny. It was a shame to be stuck inside, though nice to actually focus on my work while occasionally gazing out to the nice city view.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb