Northern Monkeys


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in actionBack in actionBack in action

LPW and DZB
Jumped on the 5:11 from Euston to Manchester to meet up with my mate Dave.
Dave's studying in Tel Aviv and we decided to meet up for a bit of a weekend bash and Manchester sort of chose us.
Had a couple of hours to kill before Dave arrived so I decided to see the sights and sounds of Manchester. Wondered into a very happening and noisy area along a little canal and went into the first bar I came across. The bouncer stopped me and shouted over the music "Hey are you from the UK?" Me: "Eh, well I live in London but I'm from South Africa?" Big Bouncer: "No are you GAY??" I had walked into the largest gay village in the UK. Brilliant!
Moved on and on the next street I saw a very very scantily dressed girl next to this club after nearly getting knocked over by a couple of cars I noticed that she was talking to none other than Rio Ferdinand, the England and Manchester UTD footballer. I was in a way mesmerized. Nuts.
Then Dave arrived and we attempted to drink Manchester dry, almost succeeded. Great seeing the old codger.
Went to the Manchester
ManchesterManchesterManchester

Great city, very very lively and great buildings. Plus there is a bar on every corner.
WWII war museum which was awesome.
Then went on a tour of Old Trafford. What an experience, so amazing. Sat in the players lounge, went into the dressing room and sat where Rooney, Ronaldo, Giggsy and all the boys sit on match days. AWESOME!! Also sat where my all time hero Monsieur Eric Cantona used to sit.
We then went to bar outside Goodison Park and had a few beers with the locals and watched the Utd vs Arsenal game, amazing match.
Then headed in and watched Everton take on Birmingham. Solid game, Birmingham knocked a goal in after 10. Everton equalized with about 10 to go and then scored 2 in injury time to win it. The guy in front of me had been coming to Goodison for 39 years and after they scored the winner he turned and said to me "You see you don't get this with Utd, usually they're 3 up by now!" That is what I love about the fans here, they support a team through thick and thin, from boyhood to the day they die.
After the match we walked back to Liverpool and caught the train back to Manchester and went to the Foo Fighters concert. Bought a couple of tickets off a tout and went in. Got right up in front, great show. Mr Grohl is something else, living legend.
Fantastic weekend with my boy Bowman. Always a laugh a minute with him. I look forward to our next adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Old TraffordOld Trafford
Old Trafford

Woop der it is!! Last time I was here was in 98 with my pops when we watched Utd demolish Blackburn 4-0
Great PubGreat Pub
Great Pub

The Hung Horse
Utds TrophiesUtds Trophies
Utds Trophies

I touched the Charity shield and Premier League trophies. Tingles, tingles!
Glory GloryGlory Glory
Glory Glory

In the stands.
JaJa
Ja

Nice building.
Red BricksRed Bricks
Red Bricks

A lot of the buildings are made of these red bricks.
Ibis HotelIbis Hotel
Ibis Hotel

Buffet in the mornings, cocktails at night.


13th December 2007

You and your boyfriend are SO cute together. I'm glad you included a photo of your love nest on your Travel Blog for all to see! I love you.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb