Wimbledon 2007


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wimbledon
October 12th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's a bit strange living in London because you are so close to such massive sporting occasions and venues all the time. Growing up in SA as a kid you see Lords, Stamford Bridge, Wimbledon etc on TV but now living here you walk past these places often without a second thought. I love that you can watch live world class sport almost every weekend of the year.
Well Wimbledon was in town a few months ago and there was simply NO way I was going to miss it.
The first day I went down it was inevitably raining as well as sold out. great.

Next time I went during the week early with uncle Ryan and Mikey. This time we cruised right in with our beers and vodka and made our way to Court 2 where Jamie Murray and Jancovic (the eventual champs) were playing.
Then watched some junior tennis, then some womens doubles (which we enjoyed immensely) and then watched old Michael Chang hit a few balls as well.
I received some death stares from that French bird who ended up in the singles final when she was playing doubles. The 3 of us were all cheering for
Da BoysDa BoysDa Boys

Tearing it up at Wim Ble Don
"the hot girls" from the Czech rep and not the 2 rather manly looking ones playing them.

The next time I went was on a Monday and I simply bought a 14 pound ground entrance. I walked in and was watching a bit of mens doubles when I thought screw this I want to watch the mens quarters on Centre Court. So I waltzed over to Centre court and spoke for a while with the Ghanaian security guard and next thing I knew he was personally seating me in Centre court. Centre bloody court!!!! I've seen it almost every year of my life since I can remember on TV and now I was actually sitting there watching the worlds finest tennis players slang it out.
I watched Federer, Nadal, Ferrao, Roddick and Gasquet. I also watch both womens semi finals. Williams vs Jancovic and Justine Henin vs Bartoli. I was stunned to watch Bartoli (the woman we gave a tough time in her doubles) beat the world number one Henin.
I also snuck onto Court one to watch the last set of the Roddick and Gasquet game. What a game it was, Gasquet came from 2 sets down to
I LIKE TENNISI LIKE TENNISI LIKE TENNIS

Great seats!
win. The atmosphere was incredible. And after he had won he picked up the ball and smacked it into the crowd for yours truly to catch. It was such a surreal feeling watching him hit that ball and it slowly but surely flying straight into my hands.
Wimbledon is incredible. The whole complex is so beautiful and every detail is immaculate. I can't wait to go again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Nice shoes!Nice shoes!
Nice shoes!

7th seed from the Czech Republic
Centre Court at WimbledonCentre Court at Wimbledon
Centre Court at Wimbledon

Nothing quite like it.
Front GatesFront Gates
Front Gates

Amazing feel you get just walking around the outside. Inside is even better.
Rodicks ServeRodicks Serve
Rodicks Serve

Astonishing serve this kid has.
Centre CourtCentre Court
Centre Court

Before the womens semis
The MasterThe Master
The Master

Rodger Federer


1st April 2009

Attending Wimbledon
Did you qeue for grounds tickets or ?? Also, what time did you get in line? I am attending this year, and would like to make plans to do other things as well, maybe a soccer match or Chunnel to Paris.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb