London Highlight Package


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 26th 2006
Published: November 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SOOO I met Nina in the Northern mountains of Thailand whilst on a trek. She has since become my London tour guide as well as wine consuming friend. So we decided to meet up this week to do a bit of a tour of London's most famous sites and seeing as though we are both unemployed (well monday i start) it was rather easy to meet in the middle of the day. We met up under the big clock at Waterloo station and from there made our way along the Thames, past the London Eye, London aquarium and the Dali museum. Fantastic. We then took a stroll over the Thames over this really cool bridge. I love the view from the bridge, you have the London eye on your left, big ben and the houses of Parliament on your right with St. Pauls Cathedral far off in the distance. So awe inspiring. I posed for some Asian esq pics with peace signs and all. Adam knows about these poses oh too well.
Walked under big ben, past Westminster abbey (which is really expensive to get in to), down a couple of streets through St. James park to Buckingham pallace. From there we went to Trafalgar square to the national gallery and saw some works by Van Gogh, Degas, Monet, Van Eyk, Picasso, Raphael and Da Vinci. So amazing. Oh it blows your mind. I have to admit that I don't know a whole lot about art and that I often struggle to appreciate it but when you step inside this gallery you have no option but to appreciate it and see the pure beauty of it all. It then started to rain and we made a dash for a coffee shop, but there was a lot of noise coming from Leiscter square so we went to check it out and it was none other than Ali G promoting his new film Borat, Cultural Learnings of America for make better nation of Khazakstan!! Crazy seeing him. I saw David Hasselhof and Adam Sandler the other day as well. Famous people are always around. Woohoo! ( i could really care less to be honest)
Nina is hilarious, very unassuming and very english. I then had some dinner at her house with the fam and dogs, great having a home cooked meal with dessert and all. She has a crazy dog Narla, she is
The Eye of LondonThe Eye of LondonThe Eye of London

Smoops i am waiting for you to come! so hurry ok?!
so cool. I miss my dogs, so it was great to just be around a dog. Ya know!!
The other day we had a Halloween party here at mish mash, it was pretty ridiculous, no actually it was very ridiculous.

Went for a drink with Wilf and Jenine at the Slug and Lettuce the other night, great seeing them. Watched RSA smash the pakis in cricket the other day, it was brilliant!!
Life is good. I have been working for a week now. Quite a reality check. I had an awesome day today.
Met this wonderful old man aged 80. He said to me, "can I give you advice from one old man to a young man, never seek out happiness-you won't find it. What you want to seek out is contentment from life and from that you shall have all the happiness in the world" oh i love that. And then he told me I made his day for chatting to him. Such an amazing guy. He was paralyzed by a German V1 bomb during WW2, so he was in his twenties. Incredible.
Time for bed, seeing as though it is 11 here and i am waking up in about 3 hours for work. oh joy to the world!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Buckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace

I like it. a lot
Westminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey
Westminster Abbey

where lots of famous people are buried.
Houses of ParliamentHouses of Parliament
Houses of Parliament

Such an amazing view! My favourite in London.
BIG BenBIG Ben
BIG Ben

on the right
That cool wall again!!!!That cool wall again!!!!
That cool wall again!!!!

If you touch it, poetry is read out aloud to you.


7th November 2006

LLOYD!
You best not TOUCH that London Eye or London Aquarium without me! Those are mine Smoops! You look handsome, as always. I miss you. See you SOON (51 days)!!
8th November 2006

Binks
My eyes got a little misty when I saw that picture of you under the "Dean" sign. That's awesome - Love you too Lloyd.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb